We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stadium”

Portman Road Stadium
Ranked #18 of 116 things to do in Ipswich
Attraction details
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice stadium”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The people were behaving, I felt save the entire time. The atmosphere was great, a lot of cheering, even after the home team was being led 2-1. The chairs in very good condition, mostly clean, not too big to be intimidating, but protected from rain for most parts. The grass was looking awesome. The food / drinks are not the cheapest to be had, but this is sort of eating / drinking out, right ?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank alex16ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
stowmarket
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good all round stadium”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

,,We went to a football match on the 21st December. The seats we had were in the East of England Co-op stand, what a fantastic view. I have been going off and on to Portman Road since the mid seventies, i use to stand in the old Churchmans stand. The improvments made over the year's have been very impressive, and now a 30,000 seater stadium. The only comment i would make is the ladies loo's were hard to find in the co-op end, took me ages to find them, they were old fashion not very clean, and the bolt on the door looked like something out of the ark. Having said that, the main shop is well stocked and although busy that Saturday, we enjoyed the experiance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank penny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
238 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very old and needs updating. Very expensive”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you are going to an event here eat before hand as the food is poor quality costly rubbish. Not suitable for young children as it is very old in some areas and the toilets and very poorly sign posted. Even the staff were not sure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ipswich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great venue!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Portman Road is a great 30,000 seater football stadium.

It has a great history and a rich character.

I have never seen any trouble on a match day, and the stadium has won awards for being a family-orientated stadium.

Maybe the relatively high female match-day attendance is part of the success of this too.

I often read of opposing football managers speaking well of the ground in interviews.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank _Dom_____________777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, lacks noise”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

As an away fan I quite like portman road but it lacks atmosphere. It is louder than Old Trafford as stated above but so is my local library.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Haggis760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portman Road Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Portman Road Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing