We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite restaurant”
Review of My Keralam - CLOSED

My Keralam
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Here at 'My Keralam' South Indian restaurant, we specialise in Keralan cuisine and introduce our customers to the best dishes from the region. Kerala cuisine is unique, full of tradition, flavour and spices. Its renowned for exotic recipes which are handed over from mother to daughter, generation to generation. Kerala food has strong flavours, spices, seasoning and nutritious ingredients. Its is enrich in six tastes such as sweet, sour, salty, spicy, bitter and astringent. We like to make our guests feel extraordinarily special, we strive to exceed our guest's expectations and try to ensure that each dining experience is a memorable one.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have been here several times and have never been disappointed. The menu has a good choice of Southern Indian specialities with a good description of each dish. Portions are fairly large and we now know to order one portion of rice to share between two people.
The staff have always been attentive but never intrusive. We have never booked, tending to decide to go out on the spur of the moment, but that is probably because we go before 8pm. Certainly by the time we leave, the restaurant is buzzing nicely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinandAliBullard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    11
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Worth Seeking Out”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to My Keralam and, once again, the quality of the food and service was really excellent. The menu is so much more interesting than the standard "Indian" food you get in most Bangladeshi owned restaurants and it is well worth trying these Southern Indian specialities.

Despite being a confirmed carnivore I actually out of choice ended up selecting vegetable based dishes which were all excellent, really flavoursome and well cooked. The breads and pancakes are all freshly cooked and again different to the normal nan variants and well worth trying.

On top of this the prices are incredibly cheap for both the food and drink; indeed this place is exceptional value for money and the service was spot on.

If you find yourself in Ipswich and you fancy an Indian, do yourself a favour and give My Keralam a try. Don't let the somewhat basic decor put you off, the joy is in the food, not the room your eating in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great evening with friends”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Spur of the moment decision to go with friends who recommended this restaurant. Good range of S Indian food on offer, friendly staff, fast service, good atmosphere, and surprisingly busy on a weekday evening (that says something). Enjoyed a whole range of dishes, some quite hot (and the menu warned us). Surprisingly good wine as well. Not surprised our friends often go there. One small negative - no nearby parking unless you lucky in nearby street after 6:00pm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We live in Ipswich and have been to My Keralam several times and the food here always excellent. Its fresh and the range of food is brilliant. The dhosas in particular are great and its really good value. Unfortunately it's let down by the service and on this occasion we were struck by how bad it was. We had to ask and remind staff to order drinks, food and for the bill throughout the evening - believe me, it wasn't that we had unreasonable expectations either but its the kind of thing that puts you off going again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Curry close to the Regent Theatre”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We called in before seeing M-People at the Regent Theatre. Very quick service and excellent lamb tikka and chicken jalfrazi. Good value, starters, mains, 2 beers came to less than £35 for two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnyB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Keralam also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing