We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of DanceEast

DanceEast
Ranked #25 of 115 things to do in Ipswich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Every week at the Jerwood DanceHouse on the Ipswich Waterfront, we host over 50 dance classes and courses in our world-class dance studios. Covering a huge variety of styles, for all ages and abilities, including contemporary, creative, zumba, tots & co, adult ballet, tap and musical theatre to name just a few! DanceEast is so much more than what is presented in the theatre - we bring dance to people in schools, hospices and sheltered housing. Working with people from all walks of life; from disadvantaged backgrounds and those with special needs, we're privileged to see how dance changes lives every day. DanceEast delivers ground-breaking work through projects working with 'looked after' children and those at risk, as well as children in hospitals and older people in care homes, offering them all the opportunity to use dance for creative expression and physical and psychological therapy. Dance can energise, motivate, encourage creative thinking, and develop expressive minds and healthy bodies.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this place. It's so great. I just wish there were more lights etc when you come out of this place. As a woman alone, it would be nice if it felt a little safer. Classes are great here though!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marli_s783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday Morning Yoga - Brilliant.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The yoga class takes place in the Ashton studio, which is very bright, clean and spacious. The class runs from 9:30-10:45am and provides enough time without feeling rushed. The cost is £5.

The class caters for a range of abilities from beginners to experts. Most poses can be modified to either make them more easy or difficult, which means everyone can have a go at every pose. The teacher is very enthusiastic & offers help where needed without making you feel picked on.

On an average week I would estimate between 15-20 people attend. The majority are females and the age range is broad.

All in all, it's a good way to start the weekend & it leaves you feeling relaxed. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hip Hop tastic”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Visited today to watch Hip Hop and Street Dance show by visiting Blue Boy Entertainment. Fantastic show and lovely theatre space. Lunch in the cafe was good and staff were very friendly throughout. Only downside is inadequate parking but this is a fantastic dance studio and as good as anything I have seen in larger cities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Dance East building is gorgeous; the studios light and spacious and the cafe is a lovely place to spend time. Plus the shop Cake and Catwalk which is very reasonable and full of pretty things. I've been to dance performances there too. We're lucky to have this in Ipswich.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We went to see a show here in July 2012, and we had a Excellent time! Will definitely be coming back :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DanceEast also viewed

 

Been to DanceEast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing