We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”
Review of The Brewery Tap - CLOSED

The Brewery Tap
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a lovely Gastro Pub, the new owners took over in October 2009 and have fantastic plans. They only serve locally brewed Bitter and Lager plus a great wine list. Mike is a fantastic chef and the staff are always friendly, smiling and helpful. Lots of space for private parties or meetings. Daily fresh menu with local produce.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

my partner and i decided last minute to go here for dinner Friday evening and we were not disappointed!
we have visited before and the food has always been lovely.
the menu options always sound really appealing and i am always so tempted to try something new but it is hard to resist the cod and chips everytime when i know how scrummy it is! the mushy peas are amazing! the food is not cheap but it is all homemade and freshly cooked, which is such a welcome change from so many pubs serviced by Brakes!
the service is always excellent and i love the atmosphere of the whole place.
my partner particularly likes the range of beers that are not often available in other places.
there were some annoying drunk women making lots of noise but thankfully we were not sitting anywhere near them (i'm sure this was intentional placement by the staff which was appreciated!) but it is was a Friday night and not exactly a reflection on the place itself!
i would recommend this to anyone for any occassion, i cann;t wait until it gets colder so that they fire is lit inside too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    68
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The kind of food you fantasise about!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We don't live round the corner from this place but we can't go more than a couple of weeks without a visit. My husband and I both work in artisan food businesses so we are used to visiting lots of restaurants for research. This place is a real treat with fantastic, unpretentious meals using unusual ingredient combinations that are completely delicious. Everything I have tried on the menu has been scrummy!
The prices are for pub food but the quality far exceeds that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went there on a weekend that follow their hosting of the Pickled Egg World Championships, and this the scotch eggs they regularly serve were made with these winning eggs. And boy, the scotch eggs were truly amazing. Chips were great too. Staff really friendly, entertainment on the saturday night, a truly wonderful evening...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went for sunday lunch for the first time and have to say it exceeded all expectations. The staff were fantastic and very attentive, and the live piano player added to the excellent ambiance.

The food I have to say was up their with the best pub meals I have ever had, certainly the best in the area.

I shall be returning very soon with friends and family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good reviews by trip adviser! Very disappointed.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We ate there on a Monday evening and ordered a sirloin steak with chips and vegetables. Was advised the steak is served medium rare as standard so asked for it to be cooked medium.
Also ordered Jalapino sausage and mash with veg.
When served the steak was quite thin, about 8mm, was well done and pretty tasteless. Vegetables were also very cool on plate. My partner ate about 50% and had had enough. Onion ring and chips were okey.
My meal consisted of 4 Jalapeño sausages lying on a bed of mash with vegetables. Didn't look appealing.
Sausages smelt awful appeared anaemic and undercooked being pink in the middle. They looked and smelt as though they had been boiled. Took one mouthful and didn't want any more so returned meal.
Waitress was very apologetic and offered an alternative meal from the menu.
The waitress returned and said this is the way they cook these sausages. Not for me.
Very disappointed with both meals especially as prices are on the high side. They did adjust the bill to reflect our dissatisfaction. Not our choice for the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sc500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery Tap also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing