We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brewery Tap

The Brewery Tap
Ranked #46 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a lovely Gastro Pub, the new owners took over in October 2009 and have fantastic plans. They only serve locally brewed Bitter and Lager plus a great wine list. Mike is a fantastic chef and the staff are always friendly, smiling and helpful. Lots of space for private parties or meetings. Daily fresh menu with local produce.
Ipswich - Uk
Level Contributor
183 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

There were five of us on a Saturday night and we had some good food. One thought the batter on the cod was a bit thick and not that tasty but everything else was excellent. Nice selection of wine. Staff were very freindly and helpful. It was our first time there, we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RacingToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    68
    23
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here. The chips and the sausage rolls were the best I've had anywhere and we very much enjoyed the open salt beef sandwich with sauerkraut. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we also enjoyed some of the Suffolk lager on offer (pity I was driving or I would have had more of it!) I'm impressed with the effort made to source local produce and will definitely be making this a regular haunt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Yet another superb meal at what must surely be Ipswich's finest pub! Both our meals tonight were superb and the ice cream with dessert is something else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ParanoidDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quality service all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

good beer and quality food, could not complain staff are always very nice too. I went with a group of employees, there was around 13 of us and we just turned up with no reservation and was still accompanied and provided a table with great service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track and better for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Friendly, accomodating and attentive staff. Beautiful summer evening and not possible to book a table anywhere else dockside at short notice which proved serendipitous. Food very good, great aubergine curry and guinea fowl Kids enjoyed huge burger and fish and chips. Four mains and two desserts with drinks under £65 in this historic quirky setting with a really good vibe on an early (busy) Friday evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 444Sher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery Tap also viewed

 

Been to The Brewery Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing