We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't rush back”

Pizza Express Ipswich
Ranked #326 of 442 Restaurants in Ipswich
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won't rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We came here for some lunch and luckily wasn't in a rush.
Starters took 40 minutes for a garlic bread and dough balls then another 25 minutes for two pizzas (one of which was wrong but I was so hungry I didn't want to say anything in case I had to wait another 25 minutes for the pizza I actually ordered).
Food was as you would expect from a pizza express but service was poor, no drinks offered even though we had finished our drinks before the starters came out and the waitress seemed more interested in talking to her friends a few tables down.
Won't be back in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodie161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    89
    44
    45
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had a fab meal here to celebrate my anniversary. The food was of great quality, so tasty and the service was quick and very good.
The only snag is because the building is made of glass, if there is a large table making alot of noise it does echo, but i'm not moaning...life's too short.
Prices are good and the amount of food is eye popping.

Definitely recommend this to friends and family and also if you fancy a proper nice pizza! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Suffolk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly pitched”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Three of us for early evening supper. Luckily we were able to sit outside and enjoy the lovely views of the marina. Extremely good, attentive service (Karine, I think) and very good food, although the prices seem a little on the high side. Certainly recommending it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasurable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The staff here we're excellent and couldn't do enough to make our visit enjoyable. The lady manger was very helpful and polite in getting us a table even though they were so busy. The food was excellent and the starter antipasti was too die for. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and we will be back. Thank you for a nice evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bevie2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Horrible Atmosphere, Wouldnt go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Dined here Saturday night with my partner as we had been given a gift vouchers to use. First and last ever visit to Pizza Express!
The restaurant itself wasnt very customer friendly, the kitchen staff were passing through the middle of the restaurant with trolleys full of washing up & pots & pans from the kitchen to be washed up. It was boiling hot but the air conditioning was switched off just in case a customer complained it was too cold, no chance! The toilets were upstairs and very grim - they were dirty and looked like they belonged to another bar - very strange!
Now for the food itself.........! I had a pasta dish - you cant go wrong with pasta, right? WRONG! It came out and tasted like a processed tinned version, def not freshly made on site, and to add insult to injury it was also burnt on top! My partner had a Calzone - he said the filling was horrible and tasted like mush! not good!
Drink prices were extorionate, but i guess thatss the same at most chain restaurants.
The only good thing was the service - our waiter was very friendly and thankfully efficient so we were able to leave as soon as possible!
We wont be returning to a pizza express again!
Top Tip - Walk a bit further along the quayside - there were a few lovely looking Bistro's along the way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarabrownuk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express Ipswich also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing