We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly, great food”
Review of Sorrel Horse Inn

Sorrel Horse Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sorrel Horse Inn
Ranked #14 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Warm welcome, excellent menu, food brilliant, traditional home cooking. Interior a little tired but that is the charm of this place, very olde world, traditional pub. Obviously frequented by locals and most people in there seemed to know each other. Not keen on there being dogs in there however, but will def visit again.

Room Tip: Didnt stay, just visited for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itfc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 94 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We called into this pub for a snack lunch en-route to Norwich. A large pub with outdoor seating and plenty of parking. The bar was very welcoming with a large log fire burning in the grate. Clearly popular with the locals during our visit. Freshly prepared sandwiches and light snacks available at reasonable prices and judging by the size of plates home-made meat pies and vegetables being served at a nearby table, generous portions as well. A good selection of local ales and the usual lagers on tap.Accomodation available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peebee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We - a party of 2 couples -visited the Sorrel Horse on a Saturday evening and were pleasantly surprised at how busy it was. Fortunately we had booked so our table was waiting for us. The food on offer is typical pub fare with a printed menu and specials on the blackboard. Following our starters of whitebait and prawn cocktail (old fashioned, but all the better for it) we, all four of us, had the fillet steak which was very good indeed. It was a decent sized steak and perfectly cooked to our requirements. It was simply accompanied with chips (very good) mushrooms and a side salad. Excellent value at £16. Overall pretty impressive and certainly worth another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The pub is very nice, with nice seating areas and very nice decorations on the wall and fireplace.
The food was average. My partner had trout and I had a burger. The beef burger was not very nice, but the chips were amazing!
The banoffee pie was average.
The service was a bit slow at the bar (you have to order and pay there first), but the girl who was serving was very nice and smiley.
The toilets were very clean and smelled very nice.
I really liked the environment, but they need to improve the food.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank elias a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to the sorrel horse for a quiet Sunday lunch with family. When ordering food we were told by the young girl behind the bar there would be a "small wait", which would have been fine. However after well over an hour of waiting at a table that hadn't been cleaned from the previous users (even though the staff behind the bar had been given their lunch and there was barely anyone sitting down to eat) we decided to leave and find another place to eat. When going to the bar to ask for our card back and to pay for our drinks I ended up paying a bill for £18 for two drinks and some snacks... With the staff member assuring me that if we stayed the food would not be much longer. I would hate to see what a "long wait" would be like. Never going back again. Maybe they were having a bad day or staffing issues, but I wouldn't recommend

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived reasonably early Sunday lunch time. Not too busy. Ordered drinks and food and was advised there may be a wait for the food. Thought ok maybe half hour max. After an hour, no food nor had our table been wiped done from previous diners. Decided to go else where. Poor customer service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went for a meal Sunday , had table booked for 7.30 ordered meal 7.35 - starters arrived at 8.55, main meal 9.20 appalling wait. People were served after arriving after us suspect young bar man messed order up, husband had to mention waiting hour for starter, no mention of reason being busy . Starter eventually arrived 15 mins later (smelled the mushrooms only just then being cooked) then meal half an hour after that. Waitress apologised said she was on her own and would not like to have waited so long either. Time to settle bill (a substantial amount for 6 people) mentioned to Mr Smith, senior bar man (not the proprietor apparently) that thought wait was unacceptable, he said was due to being busy - not at all what bar maid advised us or what we saw for ourselves. He refused to compensate, customer service non-existent. we have been using this pub 14 years and have seen decline, menu not changed in that time, toilets on Sunday filthy and smelled. Not impressed with Mr Smith's attitude on our reasonable complaint of excessive waiting time. Will not visit again - the Norton Dog knocks spots off this place that's were my custom is going!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money or time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10Florence2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.1 mi away
Best Western Claydon Hotel
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#1 of 1 in Great Bricett
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
547 reviews
5.1 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
907 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrel Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel Horse Inn

Address: Norwich Road | Barham, Ipswich IP6 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorrel Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sorrel Horse Inn is a traditional country pub, with a separate accommodation block. We offer good home made food, real ales, inglenook fire places, exposed beams, car park, large beer garden, childrens play area and much much more. Family run for over 26 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sorrel Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel Horse Inn Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing