We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an excellent place”
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 440 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Such an excellent place”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Really happy with our 25 Anniversary meat at the Waterfront. This was the second time that I have had a meal here in July and the first one was just as good. On both occasions it was early in the week and thought the ambience would be low but it was great and very nearly full to capacity. So in essence - good food, good location and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    101
    18
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How Rude!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Cant rate the food as they wouldn't even take our deposit for a table of 16!

Ok - it does state that on the website T&Cs that they don't take a cheque, our mistake for not reading all the small print, but no need to be quite that rude about it!

The owner hung up on me on the phone in the end! Classy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good food and an extra bonus SAMMY THE SEAL!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Yes you read right! as we sat in the sun outside this lovely place eating some lovely food we were treated by a real live seal in Ipswich docks swimming up above the water and eating a live eel ! the cameras were out as people gathered to watch this lovely creature from the sea bathe and eat in our lovely dock area, this water must be very clean for both species to be here,we decided to name this seal Sammy as we didnt know if it was a boy or girl!and it was a minky grey colour ! so all you readers if you want a treat with a difference enjoy your meal at this place and if you are sitting outside keep your cameras ready for an extra treat in the docks! CHEERS SAMMY! and thank you, to all the lovely staff who made this day one we will always remember ! oh by the way if you are the owner of waterfront and it was you taking pictures please add a photo of this lovely creature!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leolion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Always good - good food, good wine at reasonable prices, one we keep going back to when we are in Ipswich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saints100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the set menus one evening, after being seated we had to wait over 20 minutes for menus and drinks orders.
We ordered a bottle of blush rose wine, when it came to our table it was a bottle of white and already open. When the blush arrived this was also open.i did find this very odd as it could have been any wine in the bottle.

Our starters were average , the main course was nice, we both had the fish and chips. I ordered a side dish of cauliflower cheese, we didn't eat this as the cauliflower was in what can be described as cheesy water.

I had been looking forward to trying this restaurant for sometime but unfortunately was very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank senses28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing