We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mods & Rox”
Review of New Wolsey Theatre

New Wolsey Theatre
Ranked #1 of 116 things to do in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The New Wolsey Theatre official Trip Advisor page. A 400 seat venue in the heart of the county town of Suffolk. Come and visit us soon!We're more than happy for you to use this page to feedback about productions you've seen here but please also take the time to let us know about your overall experience. We can only improve with your honest and balanced opinions.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went to see this the other night and it was a really good evening. It was very sad at the end, but if you gave them a good encore, they just kept coming back on. All very talented actors, singers and musicians - what else would you want for a great nights entertainment. So popular they have extended it for another week

Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for coming to see the show. So pleased you had such a good time. I hope we'll see you again here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock and roll panto"
in 48 reviews
"red riding hood"
in 8 reviews
"musical instruments"
in 13 reviews
"pre show"
in 11 reviews
"great view of the stage"
in 8 reviews
"west end"
in 21 reviews
"excellent production"
in 10 reviews
"talented cast"
in 9 reviews
"great night"
in 23 reviews
"next year"
in 26 reviews
"front of house"
in 9 reviews
"upstairs bar"
in 8 reviews
"all ages"
in 26 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 8 reviews
"pantomime"
in 76 reviews
"wolseley"
in 273 reviews
"seating"
in 68 reviews
Filter

639 - 643 of 709 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have been a Wolsey regular for years. We saw the best show ever Mods and Rox. Similar to their pantos - which are great- but for grown-ups. What talent!

2  Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed Mods and Rox. Theatre definitely isn't just for Christmas as you've found...I hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to see Mods & Rox here recently - a vibrant, very enjoyable production. It's a great little theatre with a good view from every seat and very helpful staff. The coffee shop serves a good range of food and drink and we really enjoyed our chilli, cake and coffee.

The only downsides are how cold it is in the foyer area as both sets of large entrance doors open simultaneously and how cramped the cafe area is when people arrive in the half hour before the performance as there isn't enough room to wait elsewhere so they stand amongst the tables of people eating and drinking!

1  Thank Rachel1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your meal at our Cafe before hand. We're trying out some new specials thanks to customer feedback and they're going down a treat!

I agree the foyer space is not always fit for purpose, this is a particular issue on sold out performances where up to 400 people will be moving through the front doors. Long term we'd love to expand but as a registered charity with limited resources we'd need some significant investment to do this. To try and combat your particular concerns, we've introduced even more seating in our upstairs bar area and I'm going to talk to the Front of House Management team about how we can encourage more customers to move upstairs and away from the cramped space downstairs!

I look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Well if you have never been this is a must! for young and old or disabled, for any one who likes to sing or not join in or not, here you will smile on a cold winters night ! a place which is warm and inviting ,a place were child hood dreams are made from .to recapture your youth and you dont have to find a young grandson to take this panto is for all ages each year we have been with friends or family and each year we get back in the car singing or saying ITS BEHIND YOU! dont take my word try it the review it

2  Thank leolion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Wow we love our Panto fans! Thank you so much. I hope we'll see you this Christmas too (and maybe before if something takes your fancy!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went to see Fhlip-Flop which was a hiphop musical, was REALLY!!! good, the staff were incredible there and really eager to help if you looked unsure, helping you with doors etc.

Can't fault them and you get served really promptly and politely also!

DEFINATELY would go back!

Thank ImCalledJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWolsey, Manager at New Wolsey Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for your review. So pleased you enjoyed Flhip Flhop. Did you know they're back with 2deep this Autumn? See you there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Wolsey Theatre also viewed

 

Been to New Wolsey Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing