We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stuff to see, not very accessible”

Christchurch Mansion
Ranked #4 of 115 things to do in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots of stuff to see, not very accessible”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lots of stuff to see, not very family or disability friendly - stairs and no lift, no interactive exhibits, but some good art in the gallery, like Constables

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AstraIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    91
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christchurch Mansion a great visit”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this house which is beautiful and set in a lovely park. The smells take you right back - the house smells like Lapsang Souchong! Friendly and helpful staff and good food. I have no reservations in recommending it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dull and Dusty.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A disappointing visit. We found the exhibits to be poorly displayed and labelled and the whole place seemed to be lacking in atmosphere. It could be amazing, needs a new direction or some better, more interesting ideas to promote the exhibits better

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lor28C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Ipswich Icon”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Set in the grounds of Christchurch Park, the Mansion reveals Ipswich at its best with a vivid historical dimension and ambience. Helpful staff enhance the experience. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely house and park”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent far longer in here than we had expected to and the staff were all so informative and helpful. They greeted us as we walked in and gave us a little background info and explained how to use the books in each room for more information. It was very higgledy-piggledy going around the rooms - there was a Victorian area and many artefacts taken from houses around the area including fascinating painted panelling and painted walls.
We would highly recommend a visit - and it is free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank soz8908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christchurch Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Christchurch Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing