We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very 1960's but warm and welcoming with excellent breakfast”

College Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipswich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
College Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The interior of the house could be a bit off-putting at first with second-hand looking furniture and bedrooms inserted into what was originally a hall-house (my room had a sliding door!) but you get this picture when you look on their web site so don't be put off. The bedroom was warm, big enough for a few days' stay (I stayed 2 nights), enough storage space,comfortable bed and pretty decent en-suite bathroom with large bath. Plenty of hot water, tea and coffee facilities (unfortunately with that dreadful UHT milk). Good views over the farm and plenty of peace and quiet add to it all.

Breakfasts were getting on for some of the best I've had, with fresh fruit salad (or prune salad) with yogurt, fruit juices, cereals and muesli, a wonderfully flavoured and perfectly cooked full English breakfast with local bacon, sausages and eggs, and toast with home-made marmalade or jam or local honey etc, etc . There are all sorts of alternatives available and they are happy to tailor anything to meet requirements.

It's a short drive into Ipswich (outside rush hour) or to the Park & Ride, while all sorts of wonderful Suffolk sites and villages are within easy reach.

To give you an idea of how good this place is, one of my fellow guests had been staying there regularly for the last 15 years or so and another one had regular week-long stays.

It sure beats paying twice the price for less in the middle of Ipswich.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auksidegoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at College Farm about 6 years' ago on my first visit to Suffolk. I remember coming out of the house and being surrounded by golden cornfields.
I went back recently with a friend for a weekend break and it was as attractive as before even though the floors made us a little seasick. The farm house is a great base to explore Constable Country, the Suffolk Coast as well as the wool towns and villages.
The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast room and visitors' lounge give a spacious but peaceful feeling.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieA174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing 4 day break in the Old Stable. The communications when booking were excellent and set the scene for a superb stay. The breakfasts were amazing and contained good quality local produce. Our hosts did all in their power to cater for the needs of their guests in an unobtrusive way. We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed at College Farm for 3 nights in the Stable Room. My wife and I really could not fault it - great location,great room and breakfast. Rosemary and her husband were very, very courteous and pleasant.

Room Tip: Stable room great for a bit of "away from it all" feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed for seven nights at College Farm which is a 600 acre arable farm. It is situated amidst beautiful countryside and is only six miles west of Ipswich. Rosemary Bryce has been doing bed and breakfast for the past 20 years and was an excellent hostess. Rosemary’s breakfasts were super and made a good start to the day. Her homemade preserves were a welcome addition to the menu.
We stayed in the en-suite Stable Room which was spacious, clean and had everything that was needed for an enjoyable stay. It was lovely to look out onto the garden during the evening and to watch the rabbits on the lawn. We also saw many varieties of birds including a woodpecker. The farmhouse dates from the 15th century and has two other guest rooms. There is also a guest lounge and there one can find brochures relating to various places of interest. The nearby pubs did excellent evening meals.

If you want to have a relaxing stay in the Suffolk countryside then College Farm is the place to visit. It is accessible to many places of interest such as Sudbury that has Thomas Gainsborough’s house and nearby Lavenham with its Guildhall. It is also near to Constable Country. If you spend time at College Farm you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Battle1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I went to a family wedding at nearby Hintlesham Hall, Suffolk, so we needed a B&B close by, to save on taxis etc.
I discovered College Farm through the net, what a find! College Farm is within walking distance of Hintlesham Hall and in the middle of some of the most beautiful countryside in the UK, and Ipswich is only about 3 miles away.
The rooms have been recently and sympathetically redecorated bearing in mind that this is a 15th century Tudor farmhouse, very comfortable beds, en suite in the master bedroom.
The floors are a little uneven in places, which is only to be expected in such an old building. We really felt that we were staying in a historic building which really added something to the two nights we stayed there. Mrs Bryce couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating, because we were traveling up from Southampton in the evening she waived the normal 6.30 check in. The breakfast was wonderfully cooked by Mrs Bryce in the traditional home-cooked style, very generous! We were the only guests on those two days so we had the run of the place. There is a front room with a TV and other entertainments, books, magazines etc. We stole a few glances in to the other rooms as they were empty, and they looked just as comfortable and well appointed as ours was, although the bathroom is not en-suite on one of them.
If you are touring in the Ipswich, Suffolk area I can heartily recommend College Farm, Hintlesham, as a perfect base for exploration. See the excellent web site www.collegefarm.net I think.

Room Tip: Book early, enjoy the room we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sprint98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed in the old stable room for 3 nights and could not fault it.The breakfast is first class with lots of homemade extras.The building is very old with an interesting history.
The small town of Hadleigh nearby has a good selection of sensibly priced restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_ggalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.5 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,033 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.3 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
11.9 mi away
Thatched Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Holbecks House B&B
Holbecks House B&B
#2 of 6 in Hadleigh
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: College Farm A1071 | Hintlesham, Ipswich IP8 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Hotel Class:4 star — College Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer Bed & Breakfast at our 500 year old Tudor house on our arable farm 6 miles from the town of Ipswich. There are 2 Double or Twin bedrooms, both with ensuite bathrooms. One of these is a ground-floor room separate from the house. We are surrounded by fields and meadows in a quiet part of the farm. Nearby is "Constable Country", National Trust properties, the Suffolk Coast and pretty wool towns. Come and see what this part of South Suffolk has to offer -- you will be enchanted! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
College Farm Bed & Breakfast Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing