We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Vegetarian restaurant”
Review of Museum St Cafe

Museum St Cafe
Ranked #55 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy Vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went in with a girlfriend as we were that end of town and were hungry. She had tomato, mushroom and green bean lasagne with a dressed salad and I had the delicious cauliflower and tomato tagine, spices blended perfectly. It is a scrubbed pine table type of restaurant, where you collect your own knives forks and napkin then the food is served on your plate in a delicious dollop,canteen style. It is sensibly priced and the cafe is very close to the main shopping street. Staff friendly and food is just great. They also serve coffee and some delicious, moist home made carrot cakes etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Openmind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    22
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Again, again and again!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic vegetarian food made with matching flavours! Ever visit something new and tasty!
How lucky Ipswich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rimzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am very exacting when it comes to food. I can only describe the Dahl I ordered as most delicious! The restaurant is not a sophisticated experience (more canteen style), and don't expect any finesse with presentation (Dahl, rice and salad dolloped into one bowl). However, if you love good food then give it a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“AlwaysGood”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went again today and had Moroccan mushroom and potato bake it was delicious. Great atmosphere, friendly staff and fantastic food. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding & quirky.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I regularly eat here with my 2yr old. He generally has a baked potato and I have one of the multifarious offerings. They're always delicious, always extremely filling and superb value for money. My son loves the chocolate cake. The staff are lovely, friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

The naysayer on here complaining about not bring able to sit down when ordering cake and coffee. There is a sign clearly stating that,which had been up for years. If you didn't see it, that's your problem not theirs.

To the one moaning about no children's portions - don't be an idiot. In a small place, a children's portion means waste. Everything is carefully proportioned for a set number of adult portions and therefore they'd have to throw food away. Given the price for the adult food is less than you'd pay for a children's portion in another place you could have just ordered it anyway. Sheesh.

And the one mentioning small portions and no child seats. Small portions! Are you out of your mind? I can rarely finish the food and I'm a bloke over 6ft tall. However they could do with a baby seat, I will concede.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clunkymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum St Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Museum St Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing