We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck food”
Review of The Arbor House

The Arbor House
Ranked #66 of 496 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located a stone's throw from the Town Center we are most welcoming of locals, tourists, students and dogs with well behaved owners.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

I came with my family on Sunday 12/5/19. Food was horrible, The roast dinner was dry. I saw the chef have a cigarette & he didn't even wash his hands when he came back in. The toilets are disgusting always flooding

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Great balance of old pub and modern bar. Really interesting menu with plenty of variety for vegetarians. Tonight I had the duck egg with asparagus and hollandaise sauce from the specials menu which was wonderful. Friendly and efficient staff, quiet atmosphere. One of my favourite places to go in Ipswich.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LizM176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

After great meals on previous visits, I was deeply disappointed with two recent dining experiences here.
Fish cake- bland and wet, served on over-salted green beans and pine nuts which didn’t really deserve to be classified as a salad.
Buttermilk chicken burger- a breaded chicken burger deep fried to the point of being dark brown and burnt, on coleslaw which tasted old and not homemade.
Chicken pie- made with the poorest quality chicken I think I’ve ever had- it looked like frozen diced cubes with flabby skin attached, in a gelatinous ‘sauce’, covered by a sad, undercooked pastry lid which to be honest tasted like it had sat around for some time. Served with barely cooked, yellowing broccoli.
What happened? I know you guys can do better!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank DeeSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

We booked the room upstairs for a birthday party and it was ideal. An intimate venue with seating, well stocked bar downstairs with friendly staff. We could play our own music and we're left to our own devices. Would recommend it.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank loopy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Popped in for Sunday Lunch after we visited Ipswich Museum, didnt need to book, friendly staff and Sunday Roast was lovely, plenty of it and nicely presented, only down side was that very limited and disappointing dessert choices.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank letty_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arbor House also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to The Arbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing