We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, calm and comfortable environment”
Review of Lattice Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lattice Lodge
Ranked #3 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, calm and comfortable environment”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

very nice, clean and welcoming guest house. Our only suggestion is to make weekend breakfast times a little later.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoloresEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
35
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We had a good night's stay in the Lattice Lodge guest house. Me and my two teenage daughters were accomodated well in the downstairs twin room with additional z bed. Beds were very comfortable with feather duvets and crisp cotton bedding.
The Tv was a little small but good for our needs. The tea, coffee and hot chocolate with real milk was a good touch.
My daughter was pleased she could go wireless on her phone and the bathroom was clean and a nice touch with the Ecover toiletries.
Breakfast was great (9am finish on a Sunday was a little early) All our differing breakfast orders were all provided without a raised eybrow. Even when my daughter asked for a cooked breakfast but make sure the tomato doesn't touch anything else on the plate ( It came out in a separate bowl!) All condiments and food , I believe, were locally sourced.
All in all a great little B&B

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatticeLodge, Proprietor at Lattice Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Many thanks for your kind review. Yes, we do still have a couple of old style portable TV's (with Freeview capability added) about, but we are replacing them with LCD's when we redecorate each room - and the room you stayed in will be tackled over the next 2 or 3 months. With regard to the breakfast times, we inherited 7am to 8am at weekends when we bought the business in 2008, changed it very quickly to 7.30am to 8.30am, and for 2010 we have changed it again to 8am to 9am - purely as a result of guest feedback. So, whether we change them again is really up to people like yourselves making comments like this - for which we thank you!

Cheers,

M&M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The Lattice Lodge guest house lives up to the majority of reviews on Tripadvisor, Martin and Mosaic have created a warm and friendly place to spend time in. The review that I can't agree with would be the latest regarding the uncleanliness and Martin being rude. It is near impossible to imagine Martin being rude to anyone, well not intentionally anyway. Our room was spotless and well set up. Nice touches are the generous tea, coffee and hot chocolate in our room and the fresh milk supplied each day. We made use of the kitchen to heat up meals from M&S, very handy. One gripe and there is little that could be done about it, was that our room looked onto the road out front which is pretty busy, This did mean waking early due to traffic. Only remedy would be moving the road so not likely. Oh, and another great plus was the natural and aromatic soaps, shower gel and shampoo supplied, lovely.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeozangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have stayed at this bed and breakfast before and been happy but I will not be going back. I was given a much lower standard room than on my previous two visits, they may have been busy - fair enough, but I had booked weeks ahead, and was a regular.

In its favour the breakfast is very nice, and there is good parking.

The first sign that things were amiss was there were several items of clothing from the previous occupant hanging in the wardrobe, clearly that had not been checked. I reported this and they were removed. The carpet had not been hoovered since the last occupant either - there were bits of paper and a bright green paper clip present. This made me rather worried, had the room been cleaned at all?

The next day things got worse. I was working in the room when the owner Martin just walked in. No knock, nothing, just walked straight in! I was shocked and said 'good job I wasnt getting changed', but instead of apologising he blustered and said he didnt know I was in there. I was paying good money to use the room, why does he think I might not be in it? And why not knock anyway out of sheer good manners. He seemed to be blaming me for being in my own guest room. He was rude. A lone woman traveller needs to feel safe in the room and now I did not.

The room had not been hoovered on day two either. The room was generally unclean. The light fittings, lampshade, and bathroom blind were dirty. The valance had black marks on it. The shower curtain had mould on it - a health hazzard - it means either the curtain had not been checked or it was checked and the mould was disregarded.

Mosaic apologised on Martin's behalf and offered a reduction in the rate, but I declined as I just wanted to leave and never come back. I stayed that night as I had an important meeting in the morning, but didnt feel relaxed and was very pleased to be out of there in the morning.

The fact that the room was shabby wasnt the problem. A room can be shabby but fine, but not if it is dirty as this one was. Couple this with the male owner's rudeness means it is was an very unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatticeLodge, Proprietor at Lattice Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
Obviously, we are very upset that this guest did not enjoy her third stay with us. We accept there were issues on this occasion, but don't feel that it's a completely fair review. On the first two visits we were fortunately able to upgrade the lady to a double room, even though she was only paying for a single - we always endeavour to make our guests as comfortable as possible. However, on this occasion we were full and the double rooms had all been booked as doubles or single occupancy of a double and, therefore, it was logistically impossible to put the guest anywhere other than this twin room - the guest had booked a single room. With regards to the cleanliness, we accept that there were some items left in the wardrobe and there were a few very small pieces of paper on the floor, which we agree is totally unacceptable and steps have been taken since then to ensure this does not happen again. However, the claims that other parts of the room were dirty are simply not true and were not mentioned by the guest at the time, unlike the first two problems. Lampshades, blinds, etc are all checked regularly and kept to a high standard. This is borne out by both the other reviews on this site and by the fact that we had our Tourist Board inspection not long after this stay and we were highly commended on our standards of hygiene.

The incident of Martin entering the room has also been exaggerated. At Lattice Lodge we provide a flask of fresh milk in the room, which (unless requested otherwise) we place in the rooms at 4pm - before most guests return and to keep the milk as fresh as possible. On this day we had rushed back from a hospital appointment and hadn't realised any guests were in. At this particular guest's room, Martin opened the door to slightly ajar before sensing that someone was in and immediately closed the door and apologised, without even being able to see in the room or having stepped into it. The guest then came to the door and expressed her anger and disappointment with this stay. As a woman who has travelled alone myself, I understand how this could have have shaken the lady. However, Martin did apologise several times and made it very clear that he took responsibility for it, that it was completely unintentional and in no way blamed her for being in early. Unlike some other guest houses, we are relaxed about people using their rooms during the day. I talked to the guest at the time, apologised for the unfortunate combination of mistakes and sincerely offered her a significant reduction on her stay, also saying that we would endeavour to put her into one of the refurbished double rooms on her next visit, if that were at all possible. She declined this saying she would feel bad as it was our living. Considering she was very happy on her previous two visits, we hoped she would view this as an unfortunate blip, rather than 'par for the course' or that we didn't value her custom. Obviously this isn't the case and we are sorry for our part in this lady's experience here.

We have been at Lattice Lodge for 20 months now, and in that time have completely refurbished 9 of our guest rooms. Notwithstanding this the room in question meets all current standards for our official rating, but is next on our list to be refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Extremely comfortable guest house with exceptionally high standards, more like staying in a country house hotel (apart from the location - not exactly in the country!). Top quality furnishings and excellent breakfasts. Hosts Martin and Mosaic made us very welcome and I was more than impressed with their environmental policy, everything that possibly can be is 'green', recycled, locally prduced or organic. Unusually for a guest house, you are allowed use of the kitchen and dining room facilities in the evenings for an evening meal, and they will even wash your plates up for you! Not cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarogers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatticeLodge, Proprietor at Lattice Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Thanks for the lovely review, and especially the comparison to the country house hotel!

Re the use of the kitchen, we know that not everyone is in a position to go to a restaurant every night, and thus are happy for guests to use our microwave and dining room facilities between 5pm and 9pm during the working week.

Cheers,

Mosaic and Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We looked at the reviews before booking our weekend break and agree with all the previous positive comments. Lattice Lodge was everything we had hoped for and a lot more. Our room was at the back, overlooking the garden, and very quiet. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. We particularly liked the fresh milk and filtered water - a really nice touch! The breakfast was good and a perfect start to the day. Mosaic and Martin we excellent hosts, provided recommendations of where to go, including a printout of how to find a really good restaurant. We will certainly return

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaizieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Another excellent stay - enhanced by football team wining 3-1 against Blackpool. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.9 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#7 of 18 in Ipswich
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.4 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#4 of 18 in Ipswich
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
3.1 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
3.2 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lattice Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lattice Lodge

Property: Lattice Lodge
Address: 499 Woodbridge Road, Ipswich IP4 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lattice Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lattice Lodge is a Gold Award Winning Urban Eco B&B offering superb quality and great value. We offer a top quality cooked breakfast using the best available local ingredients - even our coffee is roasted and ground in Ipswich - and the local apple juice is the same one Heston Blumenthal uses! Although we're eco-friendly, you mostly won't notice, apart from a few little touches like a pot for used tea-bags in your room - which we then put in our wormery. Our electricity supply is also from 100% renewable sources. So, if you're wanting a calm, peaceful, home from home experience, you're in the right place. Subject to availability, you can also hire Lattice Lodge for your exclusive use, either on a bed and breakfast or a self catering basis. We can sleep up to 23 adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lattice Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lattice Lodge Ipswich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing