We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passage to India”
Review of A Passage to India

A Passage to India
Ranked #16 of 443 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Persian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The home of exotic spices BAR AND LOUNGE NEW FIND US ON FACEBOOK , TWITTER EST.1991: THANK YOU TO ALL OUR LOYAL CUSTOMERS, FRIENDS AND FAMILY Welcome to A PASSAGE TO INDIA RESTAURANT , We offer a wide selection of Indian, Bangladeshi, English Cusines and a good selection of fine wines. WE aim to bring you large varieties of eastern and western delights. AUTHENTIC, TRADITIONAL, AND CONTEMPORARY DISHES SERVED IN A COMFORTABLE AND RELAXING SURROUNDINGS, very extensive menu provides the very best cuisines from many regions of famous sub-continents. Is FULLY LICENSED SERVING A WIDE SELECTION OF WINES AND BEERS FRoM EAST to WEST AROUND THE WORLD. We cater for vegetarians and non-vegetarians, NO animal fat is used in our cooking, all chicken dishes use only 100% prime breast. PLEASE NOTE: Some of our dishes contain ALMONDS, SULTANA, *FINEST INGREDIENTS *WE CATER FOR VEGANS AND NON-VEGANS * THE RESTURANT HAS BEED VOTED THE BEST LOCAL RESTURANT OF 2010 /2013 DECEMBER IN THE SPICE TIMES PUBLIC DECIDES VOTE AWARD. THE HOME OF EXOTIC SPICES AT YOUR DOOR STEP!
Thames Delta North
1 review
“Passage to India”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a meal at this restaurant on a recent trip to Ipswich. The decor is like an old country pub, the staff could not be more helpful or friendly and the food was excellent. I have been to cheaper Indian Restaurants but none were this good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reptile135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APASSAGETOINDIA, Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    44
    16
    4
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing great food and great staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Been going here for over 7 years and never had a bad experience. Food is excellent huge variaty. Service is great too the manager is the nicest person you will ever meet A+++++++++

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steggy0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APASSAGETOINDIA, General Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Dong, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

With a huge menu you can come here as often as you like and always try something new, and it is always consistently good.

The service is prompt and professional and Ive always had quicks Service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PQexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APASSAGETOINDIA, Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having found 'the Passage' as its known locally, you need look no further for a fabulous restaurant great food amazing atmosphere not too pricey and warm in winter. I don't even order from the menu. Just ask for something they recommend and you'll get something really special

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APASSAGETOINDIA, General Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Do not go here unless you are desperate”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Three friends and I reserved a table on Saturday 16th February, although we arrived a few minutes late the staff said it was not a problem.
We were shown to our table and passed the menus and drinks list, at this point the waiter immediately asked for our order, no time was given to actually view the menu.
We asked for a few minutes and after 20 minutes had to ask if someone could take the order.
When the waiter arrived I said what drink i wanted and the waiter had the wrong notepad, he swapped to a different pad and I then told him what starter I wanted. At this point he threw the notepad down and went to get the first notepad complaining why we were giving him mixed orders. We told him we had already waited 20 minutes and wanted to order all the food and drink in one go. By the waiters reaction this wasn't want he wanted to happen.
Due to his reaction and slamming the notepad down we decided to leave and take our custom elsewhere.
Looking around the restaurant there just was not enough staff for the number of diners.
Unless you like waiters being rude to you, being kept waiting do not go here

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APASSAGETOINDIA, Manager at A Passage to India, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
thank you from the staff and manager happy new year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Passage to India also viewed

Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to A Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing