We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever Bakewell Tart!”

West Shore Beach Cafe
Ranked #30 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best ever Bakewell Tart!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a wonderful cafe, sitting almost on the beach at the West Shore. There is a lovely view out to sea and to the estuary, it's nicely decorated, in a seaside theme, and the service is so good; where else would you be asked, as a matter of course, whether you would like help with your tray?

The choice on the menu is always interesting, the food is delicious, and yes, they really do make the best ever Bakewell Tart , as well as a good selection of other cakes.

It's a little gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Jean M Thanks so much for your kind words, and taking the time to write your review. It really does give all of the team a boost when we hear such positive comments. I hope you'll visit again soon. Thanks again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    69
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the car park, this cafe didn't look brilliant. But once inside it was clean, bright and fresh. Good service, and reasonably priced. It's only shame is that apart from a few local images, there was nothing to indicate that you were in Wales, no mention of local produce, nor any use of the Welsh language. But overall I would recommend this cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi David J Your comment surprisingly good did make us smile, but i know what you mean it's not the most inspiring building in the world. But i'm pleased you found the interior more to your liking. I'm sorry to hear you thought the Welsh theme was lacking though, but it is interesting to have somebody else's input. We do have a section on the menu that mentions we buy all ingredients as locally as possible, which does include Welsh dishes and a lot of what we serve is homemade. On the menu you'll see we have Welsh Breakfast which features award winning Anglesey Bacon and Sausages from Y Felinhelli, we use Edwards of Conwy Sausage in our Sausage and mash, and make our own Welsh Rarebit and Homemade Bara Brith, we also list that Welsh Cheddar is used in sandwiches toasties etc. But it's the Specials board where we really try and highlight the Welsh produce: We only use Welsh Lamb and Beef in our dishes such as Welsh Lamb Hot Pot, or Welsh Beef in the Steak and Conwy Ale Pie, along with quite a host of other dishes prepared with local meats, we do Sunday Roast dinners which are popular. And throughout summer on the specials board we have had Local Crab, Conwy Bay Plaice, Local Seabass. Our Welsh Cheese Ploughmans is a real favourite which includes Perl las cheese, caerphilly and Welsh Cheddar along with homemade chutney, plus there's a lot of other dishes i could mention. Having said all that if you haven't noticed then maybe we're not shouting about it enough. I take on board all your comments and i must agree about the lack of the Welsh language in the cafe, as a local lad i should do better on that. On a lighter side we do have a range of Welsh goods and souvenirs on display, and the Welsh flag flying outside our front door. Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of the cafe. I will put some thought into how we can improve on the areas you mentioned, as I'm proud of the produce we use and of where i'm from. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cafe, horrendous toilets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to get an ice cream and cafe was lovely and welcoming. We had to ask for a key to the toilets and proceeded outside round the corner and into the smelliest dingiest toilets I have been in in a long time. They could do much better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank honestlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi honestlips Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and for the 'Lovely Cafe' bit. We do try and keep the toilets clean but it can be difficult as they are in constant use, as for the dingy comment, i realise they could be better and we are planning a refurb this winter. So hopefully they'll be looking better should you visit us again. I hope you still enjoyed your visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

In here now and was on own with baby. Staff extremely helpful - fetched me sandwich and drink while I fed the little man. Very helpful thanks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks Gog76 and your very welcome, anytime. And thanks for taking the time to send us a review it's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Greatest Beach Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

If your at Llandudno this great little cafe is a must visit. There is always something different on the menu and good value accompanied with a warm welcome. Have been many times and will certainly go again. On a warm clear day the terrace view is fantastic

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjr381, Owner at West Shore Beach Cafe, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Barrie Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words, and we all love your headline !!! Thanks again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Shore Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to West Shore Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing