We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Victoria Pub & Restaurant

Queen Victoria Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 204 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went here because reviews mention that it is dog friendly. I only found one establishment that had a sign on the door that prohibited dogs all this evening and unfortunately it was this one. I felt let down as we walked past lots of places to get there. Guess you should call first if you have a dog or perhaps don't bother.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Owner at Queen Victoria Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I am very sorry you felt like you had a wasted journey, however, we only put those signs in place because of the many problems we have had in the past with dog owners.
If you had come into the pub and asked a member of staff about bringing your dog in, we would not have hesitated to say yes.
We just want to keep the number of dogs in the premises under control and once again, we are very sorry and if you do pass by again, you and your dog are more than welcome.
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    253
    76
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great meal ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed another great meal. Nothing to fault.
Great food and great atmosphere.
Definitely a place to try.

Helpful?
Thank markizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Reserved a table for four in the pub for Sunday lunch. All had lovely meals. Nice atmosphere. Will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perhaps an off night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am reviewing my visit to the Queen Victoria Pub again, as my first review seems to have disappeared from Tripadvisor.

We visited on an early Sunday evening in late September for my son's birthday on the strength of reviews on TA. We were looking forward to a proper, British Sunday roast, so two of us ordered roast meals (lamb and beef). We were so disappointed - the meat for both roasts was and dry - perhaps as a result of having been well cooked then kept warm for a long period (or re-warmed). The vegetable sides were also quite uninspiring - soggy and tasteless. Our son (fortunately!) did enjoy his cottage pie. Our desserts also seemed to have been rewarmed in the microwave. The puddings survived this treatment, but the apple pie was a little sad.

The waiters, I think, were as tired as the food. One could not answer basic questions about the menu. The other was efficient but not particularly friendly.

We may have had better luck with our meal had we stopped by for lunch rather than dinner, or if we had not visited at the end of what was probably a busy weekend in Llandudno. As it was, I did not feel that the Queen Victoria on the night we were there warranted the glowing reviews that it apparently gets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Owner at Queen Victoria Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi, thanks for your review once again, and we apologise that you did not enjoy your meal. However, we do feel that you did not need to write your review twice, you said what needed saying and there was no need for a repeat.
Your review has not been removed by us so if you think that is the case, please take it up with Trip Advisor.
Tom Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glossop
1 review
“dog friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

we recently had a wonderful meal here both lovely and exceptionally sized and reasonably priced. furthermore they allowed our jack russell inside also. it is such a relief that such places exist as dog friendly eateries are rare in england and also not to be treated like leppers ,pushed into a dingy corner or worse outside. we ate in the main area and it was lovely...we will definitely return
thank you ...paul and wendy ward

Helpful?
Thank glossoppaul
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Queen Victoria Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Queen Victoria Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing