We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: African, Steakhouse, Healthy, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Cambridge Mostyn's menu has proven a hit with visitors to the region. It is a treasure trove of unexpected specialities (monkey gland sauce anyone?). Diners can enjoy classic Welsh staples like St David's chicken (wrapped in bacon with a cream leek and mustard sauce), or embark on one of the 'great meal adventures' and sample exotic meats and game in dishes like the juicy ostrich fillet steak, tender kangaroo rogan josh, or succulent llama chipotle chilli burgers. An extensive wine list is also available at Cambridge Mostyn restaurant in Llandudno, to go along with its delectable range of ice creams and liqueurs. The eclectic selection of food and drink is matched only by the diverse decor, which features influences from the savannah to the valleys. Offering cuisines both local and exotic on the Welsh coast, Cambridge Mostyn is just an 8-minute walk from Llandudno Rail Station. Bookings are not accepted from TripAdvisor, an unaccountable and secretive American business who has threatened to remove our business from the top ten restaurants in Llandudno based on a false, subjective and arbitrary allegation made to us as a consequence of our public criticisms of TripAdvisor on our website. If you want top book a table, please use another reputable UK based business such as Opentable or book directly on our website. We apologise for the inconvenience - but we will not be bullied and threatened by this American marketing company.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Atmosphere, music, staff and particularly what we went for the food. The roast dinner was great, we had the 3-course roast dinner deal, very good value at under £10

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendation, we absolutely loved your company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    116
    31
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited the Cambridge on Sunday, the menu was quite extensive with lots to choose from but we opted for the 3 course Sunday lunch at £9.95. We were seated quickly and our drinks order was taken quickly also. There is only a choice of soup of the day and melon to start, then either Beef, Lamb or Pork for the mains and a selection of different sweets for afters. We all chose the broccoli and cauliflower soup which was surprisingly delicious (had cheese in it) we then all opted for the beef, a good portion size, the meat melted in your mouth, veg was peas, carrots, sweetcorn and broccoli, new potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and a roast potato. We all chose different deserts which were all equally as good. The staff here are excellent, friendly and efficient. You can now reserve a table which you couldn't previously. Well worth a visit for good food at good prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, it is a credit and testament to the staff who's hard work is now paying off. We look forward to having you visit again on your next return to Llandudno !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Called in without a reservation, given a good seat and excellent service. We had the three-course set meal, fantastic value at under a tenner each ! Have never noticed this restaurant before, but would definitely go there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VicarsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We look forward to meeting you again on your return !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bobote”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent food, good value and good service. A really good find. The food was excellent, well presented and great desserts. Staff friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah50td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks, we are glad you enjoyed the Bobotie - it has become our signature dish, we really look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service and food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Found this cafe restaurant when looking for a chip shop. From the outside it looks nothing but when you go in it is really nicely set out. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were a party of six two couples with a child each and they were more than happy to let the kids sit on a seperate table and looked out for them. The food was excellent value with a good choice and we ate there both of our nights in Llandudno. The second time we were not disappointed.
The staff were so friendly we had a lovely weekend and this restaurant really helped to make it that way,
The only thing I would ask for is a vegetarian choice for the roast dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyNursetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, you were fantastic company and we look forward to many happy returns (with the kids too insists Leigh the waiter!). A big thank you from all of us for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing