We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection Personified.”

The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, African, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Cambridge Mostyn's menu has proven a hit with visitors to the region. It is a treasure trove of unexpected specialities (monkey gland sauce anyone?). Diners can enjoy classic Welsh staples like St David's chicken (wrapped in bacon with a cream leek and mustard sauce), or embark on one of the 'great meal adventures' and sample exotic meats and game in dishes like the juicy ostrich fillet steak, tender kangaroo rogan josh, or succulent llama chipotle chilli burgers. An extensive wine list is also available at Cambridge Mostyn restaurant in Llandudno, to go along with its delectable range of ice creams and liqueurs. The eclectic selection of food and drink is matched only by the diverse decor, which features influences from the savannah to the valleys. Offering cuisines both local and exotic on the Welsh coast, Cambridge Mostyn is just an 8-minute walk from Llandudno Rail Station. Bookings are not accepted from TripAdvisor, an unaccountable and secretive American business who has threatened to remove our business from the top ten restaurants in Llandudno based on a false, subjective and arbitrary allegation made to us as a consequence of our public criticisms of TripAdvisor on our website. If you want top book a table, please use another reputable UK based business such as Opentable or book directly on our website. We apologise for the inconvenience - but we will not be bullied and threatened by this American marketing company.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfection Personified.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

In Llandudno there are so many places to eat. Actually there is only one and it is the Cambridge Mostyn. I ate here two nights running, ranging from a budget meal for all to a luxury pate and steak the following night. Patrick and his staff are terrific and deserve all success. The wine is delicious and Patrick is very knowledgeable about it. As a lone diner he relished my return and set a table for me in advance without prompting. Had i been in Llandudno for a month, i would have eaten there every night. I might even move there its so good. No, its great! Go there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your amazing and positive feedback, the credit though must be given to all the staff who produce great food and provide great service to the rest of the full restaurant, which made it easy for me to offer you my time and recommendations The whole team gets the prize, well done them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    112
    30
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

On holiday in nearby Penrynside and went into Llandudno and came across Cambridge Mostyn - very pleasant surroundings and nice music playing - a good choice of menu served by the owners - I requested salmon without the dill butter and it arrived freshly steamed served with lemon garnish - its the first time I have emptied my plate for years - fresh vegetables that tasted as fresh vegetables should - my husband had roast dinner with all the trimmings - we both had dessert and coffee - we learned they haven't had the restaurant long - They deserve all the best

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 209967Bett79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for you great review, we are very happy to have served you and its always good to have clean plates after a meal, it`s a sure sign that our Chef is succeeding in his quest to turn out freshly prepared, irresistible food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“sunday roast special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We called into the upstairs restaurant having seen the advertising board out on the pavement and got a nice surprise on viewing as it is very nicely presented.
It was 4.00 pm on a sunny Sunday afternoon, the restaurant was quiet but we were not ready to eat so we asked to reserve the lovely window table for 5.00pm overlooking the street with views of the great orme, no problem was the response.
On returning from our walk down the pier we found the restaurant very busy, but our seat was reserved as promised.
We had the 3 course 'roast special' at £9.95, the starter of soup was lovely and home made, the welsh lamb and welsh beef mains very nice indeed ( not massive portions, but sufficient and only to be expected with a 'special' ), the apple strudel for desert was excellent and the beer very good and cold (around £3.20 a pint !).
The restaurant itself is very pleasant with nice furnishings and relaxing background music resulting in a very pleasing atmosphere.
The service was efficient and very friendly resulting in a very enjoyable early evening meal.

The only downside I can see is if you have trouble with stairs, as the restaurant is upstairs on the first floor above street level and also the toilets are down another flight of stairs

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rainydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic compliments ! We are certainly getting very busy, and it seems to be largely repeat customers who are amazing supporters of the Restaurant! Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic find when looking for dinner on Llandudno. The South African specialty, Bobotie, was delicious as was the Welsh lamb roast. We also enjoyed the house red, a Robertson's merlot with the meal. It was all capped off with a wonderful Illy coffee.
Staff were very friendly and took time to chat with patrons.
Highly recommend a meal here if travelling in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyr05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review, good luck on your fantastic travels - we are very envious of your trip so far ! We hope you enjoyed Llandudno here in Wales and all house wines meet our standards in Merlot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very friendly,,,good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

On a busy sunny bank holiday we had the foresight to book as when we arrived there was a queue. Friendly greeting from staff who must have had an exhausting day but still had energy and were very pleasant. We booked the fixed price two course meal and a bottle of white wine.
Meal adequate and wine excellent. Regrettably could not see the meat for a sea of gravy!! Wine was excellent. Staff had time to stop and check all OK...and were interested in our responses (what a refreshing experience). Would visit again if in area and try one of their specialities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMICHAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgemostyn, Owner at The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the constructive feedback and praise, we all hope to see you back again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to The Cambridge Mostyn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing