We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the Seventies!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whitehouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whitehouse Hotel
Ranked #138 of 150 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Back to the Seventies!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

My wife and I had booked for a two night stay with Travelstyle at the Whitehouse Hotel (Friday & Saturday) we then decided to extend our stay by one night to include the Thursday night, a telephone call to the Whitehouse was all that was needed to arrange this, the extra night stay would be £30 per person

We arrived Thursday afternoon and were asked what we would be requiring for our evening meal, we declined as we had already eaten, we were informed our room was 104 and had a sea view, we found our room on the first floor upon entering the room we found there were tea and coffee making facilities (kettle and four loose tea bags plus coffee sachets and small milk packets), a wall mounted tv with very small screen, a double bed with hand painted metal headboard, a wardrobe (the back was partially unattached from the main carcass, a small set of drawers, a wash basin with light over which did not work (yes the wash basin was actually in the room) and finally the en-suite facilities which comprised of a bath and toilet both of which dated from the seventies era please note there was NO SHOWER although the slider rail and bath taps had supported one some time in the distant past, to shower we purchased a plastic tub from the local Pound Bargain store although we found that when we rinsed ourselves large amounts of filler came from the bath sides.

The window at sometime had opened out onto a small balcony but was now impossible to open due to the amount of paint which had been applied to the frame work over the years.

As for the cleaning of the room basically all that was done was the tea cups rinsed out and tea and milk replenished plus the towels were changed subject to being left in bath if dirty (now a common practice in hotels), the bed was not made, the head indentations in the pillows could still be plainly seen and the bath still had suds in from our earlier "jug shower" plus the "carpet" had not seen a hoover for many years

As for the meals, on the first day we had a lengthy wait for breakfast due to the hotel being almost full with two coach parties, it consisted of cereal, toast, tea / coffee and your choice of breakfast eg full english or boiled eggs etc, we declined the cereal and requested two full english breakfasts, which consisted of one egg, one sausage, one slice of bacon,one small tomato, and a very small square of fried bread, basically a child's portion.

We did not eat in the hotel on our first night, but on the Friday evening we had opted for roast pork and fish and chips, before entering the dining room we decided to have a drink in the bar where hot "pork crackling" was offered in bowls as a bar type nibble, very strange that the "crackling" was almost uniform in size and suspiciously resembled the pork crunch type of snacks that can be purchased from any supermarket although this had been warmed prior to serving.

As for the actual "meal" the fish was the type sold in Iceland at four for about £2.00 the fish meat was grey, the chips, well chips are chips.

My wife's "roast pork" was again the type sold in supermarket "chiller" cabinets and was served with alleged mash and roast potato plus a small serving dish with peas and carrots

Saturday morning after our "plastic jug shower" we decided to have breakfast once again as the coach parties had now left and there were only thirty three people in the hotel so hopefully service would be more swift.

We entered the dining room at 08-55 as did all the other guests, incredibly there was only one person waiting on the tables and he had to serve and clear the tables plus replenish the tea / coffee and toast, at 09-10 we were finally asked which cereal we would like (porridge and cornflakes) it was not until 09-40 that we were finally supplied with our "full english" breakfasts which were deplorable even worse than the previous days offering, my wife had just tomato skin instead of a plum tomato, the eggs had been cooked and left in the oven and were "baked" by 09-44 we had eaten our "breakfast".

I must point out I do not blame the guy who was waiting on he was doing his best but with thirty three covers one person to serve, clean and replenish is not enough.

After going out to eat a breakfast we decided that we could not put ourselves through the cottage pie or poached fish with chefs own special prawn sauce or the breakfast on Sunday morning let alone the "shower ritual". We decided to leave one day early due to the food and accommodation being totally sub-standard.

After packing I informed the person on the front desk that we were leaving one day early, however I would be paying the £60 owed for the Thursday night accommodation, I requested a receipt for this payment which I eventually received as she was totally unsure what this procedure entailed.

So to summarise, we do realise that this is a budget hotel and this is reflected in the tariff however we are now in the 21st century and in all honesty this hotel belongs back in the seventies or even before, the room facilities are disgraceful, the cleanliness is none existent, the food is disgusting, would we go back? To Llandudno definitely, to the Whitehouse never.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, proprietor at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for you thoughts. Your response is right about the fantastic location. Unfortunately I will have to correct you about the supermarket meat. Our food from one of the county’s top supplier Williams of Flint, the've won a number of awards for their outstanding quality; all our beef and lamb is Welsh. Our fishmonger is also one of the county's largest also winning awards for quality and service. In Llandudno a fish & chips and a full breakfast would set you back around £15 including drinks and deserts. Taking that off your bill of £30 means the true cost of staying one night at the Whitehouse is around £15 for accommodation which also includes fantastic entertainment every night. Finding a reasonably priced hotel on the seafront with parking facilities is a challenge but one we achieve with amazing value. Our balcony is Graded and listed. This can no longer be used as it is being preserved as part of the Llandudno heritage. The hotel is being refurbished I look forward to welcoming you back in the future to see the changes we are making on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    112
    92
    67
    166
See reviews for
97
247
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

52 people from stroud in gloucestershire visited this hotel for a long weekend and had a lovely time the staff were very freindly and the food was very good a good time was had by all the owners made us all very welcome

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
Thank r_smith279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, proprietor at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
What a great weekend it was. The format of sunday lunch before you lot left was a great way to send you off with a roast beef dinner. It also gave me the chance to play Bat Out of Hell on the CD for the first and last time, until we see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We have stayed at the Whitehouse many times over the past five years and honestly say that the current owners are the best ever, They make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The rooms are always clean and fresh and the food is excellent. The staff are all very efficient and pleasant without being too familiar. The Whitehouse is brilliant and I would recommend it to anyone. The added bonus is that it has a car park and is right on the sea front.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilthompsonCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, proprietor at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Thanks for your review, we are starting put our own stamp on things at the hotel and turning things around. We have recenlty painted all the rooms, fitted flat screen tvs, and refurbishe the ballroom.Our priorities have always been; customer, care, cleanliness, great food, great service, great entertainment and above all GREAT VALUE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.helens
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

we have been seven times in two years and are going again in feb 2010. bedding spotless food is very good. jackie an paul are bril. from taylors of st.helens

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woolybackssthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, owner at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thanks for sharing your experience at the Whitehouse and may you continue in your support for the future. Look forward to seeing you in the new season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

hi just had xmas at white house absoulutly fantastic food was great staff were great and as for elvis the closest i have ever heard close your eyes he is the king thanks to you all will be back in the spring hope elvis is there we are bringing army of elvis fans with us

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elvisfanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, owner at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
i am considering a big elvis bash next year in January, so let me know next time your over if you would be interested in attending. Our Elvis is very popular, as are all the entertainers we have here. We are building a reputaion for good value and great entertainment. Thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

went with party of 12 all had a lovely time every thing clean and spot on jacki and paul could not do enough for us will be going back in the near future entertainment also good great value for money we wish you all the very best for the future
nev and friends from leigh

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bigneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, owner at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2009
Thanks Nev, your group added to a great atmosphere, looking forwaard to seeing you again, why not try one of our 60s themed weekends between February and June, great value for money, I am sure you will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhondda valleys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

Just got back from the white house, we paid £79 and we stayed from friday to monday, rooms were basic but bedding clean and meals were lovely, entertainment was good and Jackie and Paul were very friendly and so was all the staff. Only down side we had was there was no telly but this was due to the switch over, overall it was very nice and i would definetaly stay there again. Gang from the rhondda.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex9, owner at The Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Thank you very much for making the effort to write a review. We have today taken delivery of a pallet load of flat screen tvs which are already being installed. It was s hame we got caught out with the switch over but I think the investment will be worthwhile.Look forward to you coming back in the new year. Dont forget to ask about our Friends and Family offers.
Thanks again Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kinmel Hotel
Kinmel Hotel
#56 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#22 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehouse Hotel

Property: The Whitehouse Hotel
Address: St. Georges Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2LF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea front located hotel, family run, large free car park, easy access to shops and beach. All rooms en-suite. Themed breaks including 60s weekends and party weekends. Nightly entertainment throughout the season. Well stocked bar and friendly atmosphere. Centrally located to explore the whole of North-wales including Snowdon, Anglesey and the Llyn Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whitehouse Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing