We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor on every count”

Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel
Ranked #59 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor on every count”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited the Tudno for a birthday meal after a decent meal a couple of years ago.

The portion sizes are the smallest I have ever witnessed I ordered lamb which consisted of 4 medallions the size of 50p piece alongside a small cottage pie. Quality was ok but what a rip off.
We ordered a bottle of Sancerre that arrived unchilled.
The service was poor throughout and it gave the impression that it was closing or being sold there was no Customer care whatsoever. Will not go back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNANDKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StTudno, Owner at Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Johnandkaz

Thank you for your valued feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the portion size that you received and perceived it as poor value for money. I would be interested to hear what else you had to eat apart from the lamb dish. Being a fine dining restaurant, our menu and portion sizes are designed to be taken as part of a 4 course menu: canapés, starter, sorbet, main, dessert, possibly finishing with coffee and petit fours. If you only had the one course then, yes I would agree it would not have been enough.

The price of the dishes reflects the quality of the locally sourced ingredients and the skill and time it takes to produce these dishes. For a 2 AA rosette restaurant, our prices are very reasonable.

With regards your wine, it would have been chilled and brought straight out of our wine fridge. If you would like it ice cold, please just ask next time. We would happily have given you an ice bucket.

As for the poor service, this cannot be excused; we pride ourselves on our customer care and if you read any other comments on the hotel or the restaurant they all praise the staff, even if they had something else to complain about. However, being as there are no specific details here, I cannot really comment. If you would like to contact the hotel directly on 01492 874411 or sttudnohotel@btinternet.com, I would gladly discuss any problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Years' Eve function”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

St. Tudno hotel - Llandudno. The atmosphere and 6-course meal were both excellent and it was a very relaxing way to welcome in the New Year. The disco was trimmed to the Audience and most enjoyable. With "hats" and "peashooters", it was easy to hold "battles" and conversations with others in the room that you had not previously met. Yes - we were all Adults! Highly recommended.

Sethi59

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sethi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StTudno, Owner at Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sethi59

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the New Years Eve celebrations and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently visited for dinner with my wife. Staff very attentive and friendly. White wine was lovely but could have been chilled a little more for my liking. Food was of a good quality and very tasty, but (despite what the owner has defensively written in reply to other posts) I also thought the portions were meagre and could have done with a side serving of vegetables with the main course

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return visit.....better than ever!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Me and my husband came to st Tudno for our evening meal on Tuesday 16th oct 2013 as we were staying in llandudno for our honeymoon. We have eaten here before and absolutely loved it and could not wait to come back. The food here is amazing, the presentation flawless and the service superb. You are made to feel so special, and the little touches like the amuse bouche and sorbet course to cleanse the pallet all add to the experience. The place is so romantic too, with beautiful music playing softly in the background. On this visit the owner came into the restaurant and made his way round each table introducing himself and asking us about ourselves which I thought was lovely. This is probably my favourite place for a romantic meal ever, and we will 100% be returning and would recommend it highly to all romantic couples.

Helpful?
Thank tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“£8.90 for one large, half-chilled glass of wine!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Need I say more? Average bar snacks. Friendly, attentive service initially. Good view over bay. Sadly can't recommend in terms of value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dillydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StTudno, Owner at Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Our house wine is currently priced at £3.35 for a 125ml, £5.00 for a 175ml or £6.70 for a 250ml glass of wine. We offer a range of 6 white wines by the glass. £8.90 for a 250ml good quality Pinot Gris is actually very fairly priced for an hotel such as ours, with professional table service in very relaxed and pleasant surroundings, with beautiful views of the bay. I’m sure you can get a bog standard quality white wine at £1 or so cheaper at an ordinary bar somewhere without table service, at a stone cold temperature. Our wines are served at the correct temperature, where you can actually taste the quality of the wine coming through. We are sorry your experience was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Terrace at St. Tudno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing