We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Number 1's Bistro - CLOSED

Number 1's Bistro
Price range: $39 - $157
Cuisines: French, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We always make a point of dining at Number One's when we are visiting North Wales.
Food is excellent and cooked fresh to order. Good value for money, particularly the early evening option. Best to book in advance. Service is good fun - go with the flow.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quite nice food but somehow offputting”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We quite enjoyed the food at Number One Bistro, but the atmosphere was a tiny bit chilling. It's a while since we ate in a restaurant where people were conversing in such hushed tones about the excellence of the peas or otherwise. I think the problem was the personality of the owner. I'm sure he's perfectly nice really, but he just doesn't have the knack of creating a relaxed welcoming atmosphere around himself for some reason. Also, it was totally weird that the restaurant ran out of bottled water after two tiny bottles - I mean, jeez, you can imagine running out of some things, but surely you restock when you're down to your last thirty bottles of water, don't you?

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank LondonCleverTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This place is definitely worth seeking out. My husband and I had the best meal of our stay in Llandudno here - all freshly cooked, good size portions and pleasant place. The waiter was a bit frosty to start, but soon warmed up. A hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyager54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Excellent food, great winelist, nice atmosphere en very reasonable prices. If this place was around our corner (we live in the Netherlands), we certainly would be regular customers.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodlife32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Relaxing enjoyable meal”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Excellent range on menu very friendly owner, may not be modern decor but makes you feel relaxed, food good quality as well as quantity would definitely recommend .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 1's Bistro also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
 
Penrhyn Bay, Llandudno
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing