We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Watkins Restaurant

Watkins Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 205 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Watkins Co restaurant in Llandudno is an equation that comes out right every time. Take an award-winning restaurant, set it in one of Llandudno���s top hotels, create an historic Victorian dining stuffed with formal elegance, add in an inventive chef with a dab hand at classic favourites and it���s elementary -- Watkins is a hit. Half the menu is seasonal, locally-sourced a la carte deliciousness, while the other half is a daily-changing table d���hote menu offering excellent value. People love the home-made lasagne and the daily roast, but we recommend the more inventive creations, too. Watkins Co���s service, impressive children���s menu and a pocket-friendly wine list get top marks.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff are fantastic, the food brilliant. The menus are well thought out and delivered with a smile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    61
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Customer service at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The maitre d and other staff sorted out a booking confusion (entirely our fault) with a smile and the staff followed up with a lovely meal. Our whole party were very happy with our entire experience. For value for money this place can't be beaten and the quality is good too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRBColwynBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wednesday night chef is utter tosh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I don't know who tried to cook up a meal last night in the Watkins Restaurant but the effort was very poor. The meat was tough and overlooked and the arrangement on the plate was abismal, it looked as if it was thrown on, perhaps the result of being overwhelmed by all of a few people in the vicinity. Will not recommend or be revisiting.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adlais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked this restaurant based on other reviews I had read and we were not disappointed. The staff were excellent, very attentive and we were made to feel very welcome and relaxed. The food was excellent and there was a fantastic choice on the menu. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Hated Watkins love poolside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

After our awful visit to Watkins last year we decided to go back to the poolside restaurant. As usual the food was very good, the atmosphere bubbling (several parties there that night) and the service efficient without being intrusive. The value for money is exceptional given that wine is included in the price for the 3 course meal (and its quite a pleasant fruity wine - not the usual paint stripper that usually accompanies set menus. I'll no doubt be back when we visit later in the year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watkins Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Watkins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing