We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautful dining room”
Review of Watkins Restaurant

Watkins Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $64 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Watkins Co restaurant in Llandudno is an equation that comes out right every time. Take an award-winning restaurant, set it in one of Llandudno���s top hotels, create an historic Victorian dining stuffed with formal elegance, add in an inventive chef with a dab hand at classic favourites and it���s elementary -- Watkins is a hit. Half the menu is seasonal, locally-sourced a la carte deliciousness, while the other half is a daily-changing table d���hote menu offering excellent value. People love the home-made lasagne and the daily roast, but we recommend the more inventive creations, too. Watkins Co���s service, impressive children���s menu and a pocket-friendly wine list get top marks.
Strines, Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautful dining room”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent food, service and atmosphere Had the best fillet steak I have ever eaten on New Years Eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leocat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    61
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very very good”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

we visited Llandudno on 14 dec and booked the poolside restaurant for our evening meal this is about our 10 visit and with out doubt the best value for money restaurant in town three course rib eye steak with all the trimming and with wine large glass, and coffee in very nice surrounding over looking the indoor pool all for £17 95,1st class

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamBenidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Really good value for the money!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked on the recommendation of a couple we were sitting next to on the plane to Bulgaria this year! I emailed the Empire first to reserve a table and promptly received a reply -table for 2 25th Oct. We were not disappointed with either the food, service or ambiance. For £17.95 per head with wine and coffee we thought it was excellent value. The lamb shank was to die for and the handmade chips were deliciously crispy and hot!! Looking across to other tables their food looked equally good in fact I've already chosen the ribeye steak for our next visit to Lllandudno. Service fast efficient and friendly and overall experience very good. Would recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mslancashire503927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a 3 Course Meal at the Pool Side Bar - £17.95 to include a 250 Glass of wine and coffee. Good value for the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If price is the only measure of a good night out............”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Have been here infrequently before, and it really doesn't change. Absolutely no one can challenge the price at the poolside restaurant, £17.50 for a three course meal and a quarter of a carafe of house wine, is cheap in any ones book. As a result the place is packed. There are two sittings and you are in and out in no time. Food is ok ish at the price. Ambience is also ok ish. Service is at best efficient. So to sum up, if you eat to live, and want to go out for a smart ish meal for the very least money you can spend, then this is for you. If you live to eat, enjoy the whole dining out in an evening experience - warm atmosphere, friendly, unhurried service, great food - then I would strongly suggest that you go elsewhere. I personally would prefer to go out less often and pay a bit more for a nicer experience, however, you pay your money, you take your choice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keren056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watkins Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Watkins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing