We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with friends”

Osborne's Cafe and Grill
Ranked #13 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Osborne’s Café and Grill in Llandudno -- could there be a more romantic restaurant anywhere? Set in the Grade II listed Osborne House Hotel right on the promenade, Osborne’s is a modern tribute to high Victorian style. Softly candlelit and decorated with opulent drapery, period fireplace, gleaming chandeliers, gilt mirrors, antiques, paintings and fluted columns, the dining room still manages to be relaxed and informal. Perfect for light bites or full meals, the menu uses local produce to create inventive, seasonally-changing modern European dishes. Everyone loves the Conwy Valley lamb shank with ratatouille and basil when it’s on the menu and the Osborne’s rendering of fish and chips.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meal with friends”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The ambiance was very welcoming, the food excellent and also the wine. Service very good and although the frontage of the hotel is not that good, you are transported when you enter the restaurant. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 852Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    131
    42
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“glad we went......”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Carol-Lynn at Lauriston Court Hotel recommended this restaurant to us and I am so glad she did. The dining room & bar are really attractive. The food was great. The best risotto I have tasted and the desert sublime. Really good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterUK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly but Flawed”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I chose to book a table at Osborne's during a weekend break in Llandudno, mainly due to the recommendations of our stylish upmarket B&B and generally favourable reviews on Tripadvisor. Sadly, the food was not at all up to standard and the staff didn't seem to care that much.

The setting is nice enough - a grand Victorian dining room and a view out across the bay from the front windows. We were also given a friendly welcome, but that's where the pleasantness ended. I had a grilled brochette of prawn and king scallop for starters. Lovely fresh seafood that was ruined by being drenched in a shop-bought sweet chilli sauce, completely eliminating the delicate sweet scallop flavour. My wife has a smoked trout timbale which had the opposite problem - it didn't really taste of anything! Main courses were grilled plaice and sauteed salmon on creamed cabbage. The plaice was ok, but the salmon was the most salty dish I think I've ever tasted in a restaurant (and I like my food fairly salty!). When I mentioned this to the waiter who came over, he just said 'oh' and wandered off again. Fortunately, a bit of lemon juice and the cream sauce made the fish edible, but I was thirsty for hours afterwards!

We probably should have quit there, but we shared a cold, limp treacle tart for pudding and I foolishly ordered a glass of dessert wine - a Chilean muscat, which tasted a bit like chlorine.

The prices look reasonable at first, but they were pulling the classic 90s trick of listing main courses with no carbs or veg included so by the time you add in side orders, the meal was quite expensive for Llandudno.

It's very rare that we go out for a bad meal these days thanks to Tripadvisor and other recommendation websites, so it was a real surprise to find Osborne's wanting in so many areas. Perhaps the head chef had called in sick, but so many basic errors are hard to forgive in any case.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
necastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here yesterday for lunch and was very disappointed with the food.I went for a tootsie which looked like normal supermarket bread with cheese and ham filling. The chips was thrown and swimming in oil, no garnish and at £5.95 I have had better in a little chef. It is a big shame cause the building is fantastic get rid of the chef!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eddycarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average....!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited Osborne's for a midweek lunch. Being local to the area I have visited several times before and have seen the premises and standard of food slowly deteriorate. When it first opened Osborne's was the place to go for good food, great ambience and excellent service... Perhaps the proprietors have become complacent..? The service and staff are still very good, especially the restaurant manager who does her utmost to welcome you, is very professional and cannot be faulted. The food however was at best mediocre. An open smoked salmon and prawn sandwich.. Was actually a bit of smoked salmon and mass produced prawns on two slices of supermarket bought 'Warburton's' (or similar) wholemeal bread...! Other friends, also local to the area have made similar comments to mine. The Bitburger beer is excellent though... But then it should be at £4.00 a pint..!
The decor, once splendid and ornate is now looking tired and in need of refurbishment.
Osborne's, I believe is now surviving on its former glory and is in need of a revamp both in the decor and the food departments...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LenDudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osborne's Cafe and Grill also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Osborne's Cafe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing