We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food in Hotel Restaurant”

Chantrey's Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 209 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Contemporary, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,059 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Average food in Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in The Imperial for the weekend. This restaurant is part of the hotel. We ate one night and i found the food very average. Service was good but they need to step up with the quality of catering

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Xmas Party”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Attended a Christmas party night on Thursday 19th Dec and was extremely disappointed with the quality and choices of food, the prawn cocktail starter had so much mayonnaise on it Mr Hellman would have been proud! !, The roast sirloin of beef was so tough both slices were left , the Yorkshire pudding was rock hard, the carrots and sprouts under cooked and what only can be described as a brown watery liquid was served as gravy. For such a prestigious hotel and the amount charged for the evening there was a lot of disappointed guests !!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It may be a 4 star hotel, but the lunch leaves much to be desired!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the hotel for lunch with great expectations, BUT, there were no menus on the tables. We had to get up and ask for one, the service was so slow, and I am sure the young boy had had no catering training at all! Only paper napkins when the George further along the prom always use linen ones. I had the risotto and had to send it back, it was not as stated on the menu - ingredients missing and it had a 'skin' on which showed it had been lying around the kitchen for ages. My husband had the fish and chips. He swore the 'thick hand cut chips' were last night potatoes cut in two and deep fried. I had creme brulee, which was nothing more than flavoured custard with a cold topping. We were both very disappointed and we did complain. We felt so sorry for other diners too. One lady ordered salmon and especially asked for an accompanying sauce. The young boy said the chef would make one. It arrived minus , so the lady again asked for sauce and the boy said ' what do you want, HP or Tomato' Help....
Sorry Imperial, we will stick to the 4 star George in future.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10mountaintops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nothing to shout about”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The service at this restaurant really let it down there were long waits between clearing the table and several different waiters/ waitresses serving us, which I think led to some crossed wires! The desserts were delicious but the rest of the food wasn't mind blowing as you would expect from this sort of establishment. You could probably get more value for your money elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“without doubt, the best 3 course meal i've had yet”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Based at the 4* Imperial Hotel on the sea front, Chantrey's allround was excellent. At first glance the menu looks expensive but, we had a 3 course meal for 2 with a couple of glasses of wine for £80.

The food is delicious, the service is excellent and the atmoshpere is upmarket but laid back at the same time......nothing worse than a stuffy hotel restaurant.

If you can't stretch to staying there, stay in a nice B&B, splash out and eat there like we did. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank draowbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chantrey's Restaurant also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Chantrey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing