We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Excellent location!”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not bad. Excellent location!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It is what it is.

The hotel is old, but it's clean and comfortable and in an excellent location in the town centre.

Stayed in 104 which was nice. Even had a newly fitted bathroom.

Hotel has parking which is handy, but it's a case of "musical cars" if you want to use your vehicle as the owner has to move his or other people's car out the way, because the parking area is so small.

Breakfast was of a good quality and the young lad serving us was very pleasant and efficient.

The only thing that soured our stay (and I've since read that others have alluded too/mentioned) was that the owners - bizarrely - are very unwelcoming! There was no one thing that they done/said to us, but there was no smiles, no farewells, if you asked a question, you felt that you were inconveniencing them. They were very cold. Like they begrudged being there.

For this reason only, we won't stay here again or recommend it. Which is a shame really as its the most simple thing to be getting right!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    159
    43
    15
    28
See reviews for
89
174
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

No customer service at all. Rude manager..
Small dirty rooms
Wallpaper falling off the walls
Cobwebs on the ceiling
Kettle and cups in the room
Cups had don't been changed after the other people had checked out !!
No sercuity in the hotel
Keys r left on a shelf
So any1 can take ures !
Although it is only a two *
No excuse !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gailanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayLlandudno, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We have contacted Tripadvisor with regards to this review as the person is malicious as has posted another review because the other review has been removed.

Just a quick note we do have cctv camera's and in the 7 years we have been here there has never been an issue with security,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Heath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very well located for the railway station, buses, shops and the seafront; breakfast (available from 07.30) is ample and good, with plenty of choice; service is friendly and efficient. I have stayed in three different rooms and have always been comfortable and have slept well on my B&B visits, even when overlooking the main road just outside.
Apart from the dining room and lounge areas, the lighting levels are lower than I am used to at home, but there are sufficient lamps in the rooms to counteract this. Again, apart from on the ground floor, the general state of the decoration of the rooms is varied.
If you're looking for luxury, then maybe not the Broadway; if you're just after a comfortable place to start and end your day, then you need look no further.

Room Tip: If you're given a room overlooking the road, you might want to check that the windows close prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in 2014 when you come back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have just returned from a very pleasant weekend with my mother at the Broadway Hotel. The owners could n't have been more helpful. I only booked a week ago and asked if we could have a room on the first floor as my mother is in her nineties and has mobility issues. The lady I spoke to [I now realise was Sheryl ] said the only room they had was on the second floor but they had a lift and it was a pleasant room so I agreed to it. When we arrived she said she'd managed to get us on the first floor. It was a lovely light airy room with seats in the bay window. We have stayed in five other hotels in LLandudno and the food at the Broadway was a much better standard. It is a two star hotel which little things like a wobbly shelf and not enough lighting in the lounge are negligible compared to the friendly homely atmosphere. All the staff were very good. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments,

I am glad you and your mother enjoyed your stay and also the added bonus of seeing the honda gullwings.

We would love to see you both again at The Broadway Hotel, if you visit the area again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Returned to this hotel for a 2nd time with my mum and sisters, simply because of the owners! Mark &Cheryl, we were made so welcome the minute we walked through the door,& were greated by them, such a friendly couple, home from home, wonderful breakfast. Would recommend to any one wanting to stay in a friendly clean hotel in Llandudno. Will be returning, thank you Sam.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the great review,

We look forward to seeing you again in Nov.

Cheers

Marc & Sheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having stayed in this "broadway hotel" all I can say is never again. The room was filthy and the service very poor. When we did finally get to speak to the manager he was rude and very unhelpful indeed. I don't expect to be spoken to the way we were spoken to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thornhilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

ok, we arrived at the broadway and were met by (i assume the owner), who had a chip on his shoulder bigger than mount kilimanjaro, but we carried on regardless..
after i raised concerns about the fact that we had to leave the keys to our room on a shelf whilst we were out put him in a mood and half, but i refused to leave my key on a shelf in a NON manned reception where anyone can get them whilst my belongings are in the room, wallet,cash,camera,computer etc etc....but it only gets worse, the room was a pig sty, filthy dirty and needing work.. (photos attached to prove it), that bad that i booked and paid for 2 nights...stayed one and left in the morning...wasnt prepared to stay in that place another night !
ok...
the frame above the door had 1/4 inch of dirt on it, the carpet hadnt been hoovered, the shower screen was falling out of the wall because the rawl plugs had fell out. (dangerous as it could fall on anyone in the bath and its glass....),the wallpaper in the room was comming away from the wall from ceiling to floor, the nets up to the window were disgusting (the bits u see in the pic are the nets and not my camera),the ceiling had about 20 cobwebs hanging from it, the wall by the kettle had numerous stains still on it, and when i attempted to have a brew in the morning the cups were absolutly filthy... this should be closed down, what a horrible, disgusting place with a owner to match !!!!!!

Room Tip: dont have room 110, check before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steptoe362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc v, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am not surprised to receive such a poor review from you all things considered. Firstly you booked on a pre-pay basis on the cheapest rate and then your credit card is declined. When you arrived and checked in all information was provided to you concerning your room, breakfast times, what to do with keys and what time we lock the front door. You were happy at this point and no issue was raised however when you later went out you were asked to leave the room key with the key tag and just to take the front door key. At this point you became aggressive and I offered you the option of not staying and having a refund but you declined. We are a small family run 2 star hotel, we do not charge high prices nor do we pretend to offer boutique or luxury bedrooms and bathrooms. The room you were allocated was reflective of the discounted rate you paid on a busy bank holiday weekend. Our rooms are checked prior to all guests arrival and your room was no exception. The shower screen was intact and still attached to the wall before you checked in, I accept that the decor is not modern or contemporary but neither are our prices. It is apparent from reading the other reviews you have posted that your expectations are not being met, perhaps you should consider staying in more appropriate higher quality hotels and paying the going rate instead of taking the cheapest option. We were also pleased that you had checked out early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: Mostyn Broadway, Llandudno LL30 1YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#25 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Budget Hotel which sits proudly on the edge of the town centre and is just 200 metres from the seafront. The hotel has 27 rooms offering a choice of Double, Twin, Single and Family Rooms as well as a 50 cover restaurant, meeting room for 20 and a comfortable lounge to relax in. The hotel has a small private on site car park (This must be booked prior to arrival). We do accept pets, however they are not allowed to remain in the bedrooms unaccompanied. Please note when booking through the internet we offer rooms with or without breakfast please ensure you select the correct rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Llandudno
The Broadway Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing