We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diabolical”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed for the new year period 3 nights commencing 30th December 2010. We were put in a room up in the rafters. The room was tiny and absolutely freezing, the thermastatic valve on the central heating radiator was faulty and after complaining it did come on for a short time then went off again.The furniture was tatty and the windowcill rotten, the toilet was stained and had not been flushed. Breakfast was meagre, I summoned up the audacity to ask for two rashers of bacon but still alas only received one. Overall an experience that in future I will try to avoid. I must in a small way accept some of the blame as we should have refused to stay in what was a totally unacceptable room. The most annoying thing was we shared a dining table with other guests who were in much larger refurbished rooms yet had paid the same as we had.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor at all costs.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for The Broadway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 480 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

Asked to see the room before paying and despite the paper peeling off the ceiling in places, the room was big and clean.
Unfortunately, we didn't lie on the bed before paying!
It was AWFUL.
You could feel every spring, and that was when we were lying on top of the duvet from the spare bed. So we were up early and ready for breakfast.
Breakfast started well with a choice of cereals , juice and yogurts and a nice fresh cup of coffee.
However, when the toast arrived, lukewarm, soggy and ten minutes before the rest of the breakfast , it was an indicator of what was to follow. The eggs were beautifully cooked but the sausage, bacon and beans might well have have been heated up for a week or so. The final insult was being offered brown sauce from a dish. This had obviously been in the dish for too long and the waiter offered to scrape some from the sides of the dish!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiradu2, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Whilst we welcome feedback and constructive criticism from our guests it is extremely disappointing to receive such a poor review from someone who insisted and took the time to fully inspect the room in such detail before deciding to actually stay at the hotel. Having decided to stay and not to comment on any element of your stay is most suprising as you said you had had such problems at the last hotel you had stayed in. All our food items are cooked fresh to order at breakfast service wihch is why we serve toast before the cooked breakfast arrives so that you have something to eat whilst waiting for your breakfast. We are a 2 star hotel operating in the budget market and I do think that you should bare this in mind when booking a cheap last minute night away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

have just returned after booking a 2 night break with KGB at the Broadway Hotel,the hotel was lovely and centrally located for shopping,bars and restaurants.The owners were really kind and made you feel very welcome.The hotel was warm and welcoming ,and our room was very clean,the double bed was so comfortable.The breakfasts were of excellent quality especially the bacon and coffee,served by delightful staff,especially David.We will be returning and would not hesitate to recommend to stay here.
excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewyccol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiradu2, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments,

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Broadway Hotel,

Have a great Christmas.

Kind Regards

Sheryl & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

having booked a room for 1 night in this hotel for the price of £45, i requested a quiet room on arrival we were asked to pay up front before we had even seen the room,i am so glad that i asked to see the room first, it was a room at the front of the hotel on a busy main road the bathroom was filthy ,stains arount the bath,a mouldy bath mat ,the toilet bowl was full of stains, the seat hanging off , ,and a very noisy bed i asked for another room and was told that she would check , we were told that we could have another room but it would cost another £15 ,the second room was a larger room but not much difference in the cleanliness of the room, i dropped my earing by the bed and had to move the bedside table behind the table and bed was filthy, i actually left the table out so that it could be cleaned, the breakfast was ok the orange juice had a funny aftertaste, and the bacon was undercooked, i would not recomend this hotel and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T_WILLSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiradu2, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

It is always disapointing to read such negative comments regarding our hotel especially as you did not raise any issues regarding your room or hotel whilst you were here.

Last weekend was a very busy weekend in Llandudno due to the Celtic Fayre being run and as you only booked on Wednesday for a Friday night stay we were limted with the rooms we were able to offer, hence the reduction in price on the website that you used. We do clearly state that our hotel is located in the town centre and as such we do have a main road passing by. When you requested a different room I did check the booking diary and was able to offer you a different room as we had received a late cancellation, however this room was one of our larger rooms and was not available at £45.00. We did however offer you this room at £60.00 instead of £78.00 as a gesture of good- will. I am sorry that you found the bedroom unsuitably clean however you never raised any issues with me when I checked back with you following the change of rooms.

It is our policy (and many other hotels) to collect payment on arrival and we have no objection to having the rooms inspected prior to paying.

If you note from prevous reviews our breakfast's receive excellent comments, if you found the bacon not cooked to your particular taste you should have informed a member of staff and we would have cooked it further.

The orange juice in question is concentrated orange juice and not freshly squeezed; however you only paid £60.00 for the room including breakfast and we spend the extra on quality bacon and sausages.

I am sorry that The 2* Broadway Hotel did not meet you expecations,I feel that maybe you would be better suited in a 4* hotel and paying the increased charge this would bring. I would also suggest that you take the time and effort to bring your future dissatisfactions to the attention of the hoteliers in order that they may correct these matters at the time instead of simply writing a review that can not rectify any problems that you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I have never written a review of an establishment despite a long career of visiting many hotels across the UK. Yet the rudeness I met has brought me to this. If I had not been staying with colleagues, I would have walked out immediately. The owner (male) was truly rude and has to understand he is in the hospitality business. He challenged us to walk out after being on his premises approx 30 seconds. We are professional, polite people so were very shocked.
Further, our room was infused with the smell of cigarette smoke and shabby bathroom inhabited by a flock of weird flying creatures, which was attributed to the open window, but no- we opened that when gagging in smoke when entering room! Cleaning in bathroom was dubious. Many a stray hair.To balance it up, the lady owner(?) was an absolute pleasure and extremely nice and helpful. We thank her.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mc_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadwayLlandudno, Owner at The Broadway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Thank you Rachel for your comments,

I understand that the room you refer to in your review of our hotel was your collegues room and not the room you stayed in. As soon as the problem was brought to my attention, I personally went to clean your collegues bathroom and then checked to make sure everything was okay with your room, which you confirmed it was.

I can only apologise for the smell of smoke in the room, we are a non-smoking establishment and can not help it if other members of the public choose to ignore this.

We had previously tried to air the room; which is when I believe the sand flies entered the room.

I am sorry that you found my husband rude upon check-in, I believe there was a misunderstading with regards to the settling of your room account. It is our policy to take payment upon check-in and I am sorry that you found this unacceptable. I understand that your collegues were having their room accounts settled by your organisation however no authorisation had been received for your room account.

Thank you for bringing your problems with reference to your colleauges room to my attention and for giving me the ability to address this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my sister on a short break booked through KGB.

Everything about the hotel was great - location, food, room, cannot fault it in anyway.

Had a large twin room on the first floor which was spotless, and very comfortable. A lot of effort had obviously been made to make the room warm and inviting, which it was.

Breakfast was really good, with the best coffee i have had in a long time

Sheryl and Marc were lovely hosts, warm and friendly, and nothing too much trouble for them.

will definately be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Lovely hotel in a good location for all amenities. Really good service and lovely friendly owners who were very pleasant and helpful. Room was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were excellent, had a lovely evening meal as well. Thank you for an enjoyable stay and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jang57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#43 of 60 in Llandudno
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevone Hotel
Trevone Hotel
#44 of 60 in Llandudno
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: 16 Mostyn Broadway, Llandudno LL30 1YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#25 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Broadway Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Budget Hotel which sits proudly on the edge of the town centre and is just 200 metres from the seafront. The hotel has 27 rooms offering a choice of Double, Twin, Single and Family Rooms as well as a 50 cover restaurant, meeting room for 20 and a comfortable lounge to relax in. The hotel has a small private on site car park (This must be booked prior to arrival). We do accept pets, however they are not allowed to remain in the bedrooms unaccompanied. Please note when booking through the internet we offer rooms with or without breakfast please ensure you select the correct rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Llandudno
The Broadway Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing