We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home”
Review of Craig-Ard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craig-Ard Hotel
Ranked #32 of 144 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed May 28, 2010

have just spent another wonderful weekend at the craig ard, can't thank rosanne and david enough for making our stay so enjoyable, as alway's the room was lovely and had everything that we needed in it, and the breakfast is superb we've booked again for august 7 night's this time can't wait we are counting down the day's, just wish we could go more often, would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to stay in llandudno.roll on august,
philomena and bernard vitler , manchester.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tree03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    70
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
47
159
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Our second visit to this lovely hotel and certainly won't be our last. The food, cleanliness, service and hospitality cannot be faulted. Even our towels were changed although i felt that they did't need changing .Also nice to see that the Craig-Ard is still actively supporting the poppy appeal.We will certainly be returning again in the very near future. Thank you for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank santamidlands_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig-ard10, Owner at Craig-Ard Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Thank you for writing a review for the Craig-Ard Hotel, it's very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

had a lovely weekend break for my husbands birthday on the 14th of may we had the supieor room it was lovely spotless i even got a pair of slippers the breakfast was fantastic not cold like some other person had said david and roseann are very good hosts we would return again and have all ready recommended it to friends

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucas2wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The location is excellent in a quiet road but only a few minutes walk from shops, promenade, pier and Great Orme Tramway. The large cooked breakfast was consistently excellent. The bed was comfortable.
Despite what the brochure said, dinner could not be ordered.
Room cleaning and servicing were very poor. Towels were not changed, even if left on the bathroom floor or in the shower. The carpet was dirty on one side of the bed and did not seem to have been vacuumed for some time. A black woolly fell onto the floor in the wardrobe and was covered in dust and dirt. There was dirt and hair between the back of the toilet bowl and cistern.
We felt that £74 per night for a standard double room for a few nights was overpriced.
Others in our goup had similar experiences.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig-ard10, Owner at Craig-Ard Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Sorry your experience at the Craig-Ard Hotel was well below your expectations. We are very surprised by these comments in your review as we have so many good reviews on Trip advisor, Laterooms and also in the guest comment book. We do hope that guests inform us of any problems they may have during their stay and also ask guests on their departure if everything has been to their satisfaction, this gives anyone the opportunity to make any complaints or constructive criticism, which enables us to rectify any problems, as we aim to offer all our guests excellent standard of service, cleanliness, quality cooked food within a pleasant environment to stay.
It is a shame that you did not air your views directly to ourselves and the situation could have been immediately addressed. The housekeeper has been made aware of your complaint. We accept zero tolerance of substandard work, as this is a small family hotel and our reputation is very important to us along with the satisfaction of our guests.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We found this hotel to be very clean and comfortable with a good size room. Location is only a couple of minutes walk from the main street. The hotel owners and staff were very friendly and the breakfast is excellent and will keep you going all day.
We would certainly stay here again and hope to be back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pj1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Not sure quite where to start with this one.

We booked because the hotel has great reviews and is highly recommended, but I am wondering if we stayed at a different place!

Upon arrival, we were immediately disappointed, as the hotel does not really look like the pictures, but it is in a great location for the centre of Llandudno. We were warmly welcomed, and shown to our room, which was very dated. The bathroom had an old fashioned green suite, and there was lots of mould as well as hair in both the sink and shower. The whole room could have done with updating, and had quite a grubby feel to it.

Breakfast was ok, although mine was quite cold. Again, other people seemed to have had a different experience as we saw nothing of a continental option.

We stay in Llandudno at least 3 or 4 times a year, and have stayed in much better places for a lot less money.

Overall we were very disappointed, and thought it overpriced for the quality experienced

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shifu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

me and my wife had a fantastic few days at Craig Ard hotel the owner David was a top man , the food was great the hotel is very clean and the room spotless, the location of the hotel is just where you want it . me and my wife will be going back there again

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizzbang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Tor Hotel
Rose Tor Hotel
#41 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hilary Guest House
The Hilary Guest House
#60 of 144 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#9 of 144 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#20 of 144 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleave Court Bed & Breakfast
Cleave Court Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 144 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#6 of 144 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-Ard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-Ard Hotel

Property: Craig-Ard Hotel
Address: 3 Arvon Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-Ard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel where we offer personal service, attention to detail and excellent home cooking.Situated in a tree lined avenue close to the pier, beach, Great Orme and all amenities. 10 delightfully furnished bedrooms all en-suite with colour TV, hospitality tray, hairdryer and clock radio.Attractive garden for your relaxation or why not unwind in our comfortable lounge or residents bar.Free private car park at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craig-Ard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-Ard Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing