We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel, where the decor is all about the theatre (and you can spend an hour browsing the photos and messages from stars of the theatre world) for several nights whilst visiting relatives in Llandudno. We would have been delighted to stay longer but there were no more free nights available and we moved on. The hotel is super comfortable and clean, the welcome and care from the owners Michael and Dave is very obviously genuine and warm, and the food cannot be faulted. A very comfortable lounge, with very grand piano, overlooking the promenade, leads to a very well stocked bar with seating. The stairs down to the dining room are a little awkward for people with infirmities, but that apart everything about this hotel is so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The front rooms look over the promenade and bay, look right to the Little Orme, left to the pier and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
There are newer reviews for Can-y-Bae
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 910 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

My three sisters and I try to get a few days away together every summer and have visited many places in the UK and beyond over the years. The Can-y-Bae is the best small hotel we have ever visited and we would all highly recommend it. Michael and David showed genuine interest in their guests, offering a warm welcome and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Bedding and towels were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Hospitality trays were generously filled and refilled daily. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection with a good selection to choose from, (we especially liked the black puddings). Thanks also to the rest of the staff who were just as attentive as our hosts at breakfast time. We also agree with canonjones comments regarding a visit to the downstairs loo which is a MUST. Thank you again Michael and David, We loved Llandudno and Can-y-Bae and hope to see you again next summer.
Margaret, Doreen, Pauline and Hazel.

Room Tip: mountain view was ok
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Had another great stay at the Can y Bae, Dave and Michael are fantastic hosts, food fab, bar drinks lovely. Room perfectly clean as normal!! Already booked for next year and hoping to come again in September!
Thanks a million!
Hannah and Dan

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We've been here several years now and would not consider anywhere else in Llandudno, friendly, welcoming, tasteful and so clean. Mine hosts are lovely, considerate, amusing and thoughtful. Breakfasts are one of the best that I've had, bar snacks are very good value and delicious. Very important, DO NOT miss a visit to the downstairs loo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Can y Bae for 2 nights as a stop over for us driving from Ireland to cornwall and we were not disappointed! the location is fantastic, the staff were amazing especially Dave and Michael the owners. The bar meals are gorgeous (especially the beef curry) and great value for money. The even gave our little cocker spaniel a sausage for her breakfast. We will definitely be back and would recommend this little gem for a brilliant relaxing break x

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naiomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Sometimes you return to a place to be disappointed. NOT our return to the Can-y-bae. Same cleanliness same warm welcome same wonderful service. Nothing is to much trouble for Michael and Dave from the tasty breakfast to the night cap before bed. We had there evening meals that were tasty and well presented. We went to various local places and were helped with directions local knowledge and pronunciation.Because of the relaxed wonderful atmosphere all the guests mixed and laughed together. Can not recommend both the Can-y-bae and mine hosts highly enough. Even Mist the dog enjoyed it and was sad to leave with her packed up sausages in her bag Well done Michael and Dave xxx

Room Tip: We had a lovely sea view on an upper floor but there was a lift to all floors
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a lovely weekend here, the hotel is clean and tidy, the staff are just wonderful. We had bar meals which were delicious and so filling - great value for money! The bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyMoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 60 in Llandudno
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $40 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing