We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely this should be be number 1”
Review of Can-y-Bae

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can-y-Bae
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
kidderminster
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Definitely this should be be number 1”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Why this hotel did not come become Trip Advisor number 1 is a mystery to me.
This is without doubt the very best hotel we have stayed in in Llandudno. (And we have stayed in a number of them, including the number 1)
All rooms are very well appointed, beautifully decorated with comfortable beds, armchairs, TV, telephone, hair dryer Wi-Fi and if your clothes are creased after your journey, an iron and ironing board is also in your room, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a good selection of beverages including biscuits, and bottled Welsh water. Run short? no problem, more is provided if you want them.
The en-suite has large, snow white ,fluffy, all cotton towels as well as hand towels which are changed daily if that is what you want. There is also quality shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser, again, if you need more, just ask. Some en-suites have baths with showers over, others shower only, check when booking.
David and Michael pay great attention to detail and it shows.They are also knowledgeable about the area, and are great company.They help to make your holiday enjoyable.
Breakfast is superb, freshly cooked with a huge choice from the menu, as well as fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juices and sweet muffins. You cannot ask for the wrong thing.
The evening meal menu is also excellent, with a good choice of starters, main course and dessert.
If you fancy a drink the well stocked bar is a joy to use. How lovely to have a bar to relax in after a busy day, out and about .
Another plus for Can-Y-Bae is the delightful garden. We were fortunate to have a very hot week and it was a pleasure to take advantage of this green oasis, to cool down, enjoy a drink with other like minded people, and enjoy the sunset. If you prefer to sit in the lounge this too is very comfortably furnished with views of the sea and Great Orme.
Without doubt this hotel is head and shoulders above any others. Do try it.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally well appointed, but we like sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    53
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
132
383
77
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th stay at the can-y-bae, and still feels like a treat. The hotel and all facilities are spotlessly clean, incredible for a hotel that accommodates dogs.
Dave and Michael are always so friendly and you are made to feel very welcome. Nothing you ask for is a trouble to them, or the staff we met.
Breakfast was great, and the room was perfect for our short stay!
Have already booked for next year and will never stay at another hotel in Llandudno! Thanks and see you soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The welcome we received was excellent, our dog TJ was also welcomed, the room was so clean, and the information they provided was brilliant. Close to all shops and not far from a walk to the pier. Dave and Michael, thank you so much, proud to have met you and stayed in your wonderful little hotel. We will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Been alot of hotels in the past including blackpool and the stay at Can-Y-BaeHotel was amazing and the best we have stayed in.

Food was fantastic, the hotel was highly cleaned, our rooms were immaculate and the service from Dave and Michael was outstanding.
They are two genuine guys who are wonderful.

We are going back next year as we had an amazing time. We do recommend this hotel to other people who are looking for a nice place to stay with a good atmosphere and not a single thing wrong with the hotel.


Thank you Dave and Michael. See you next year.

Julie and Malcolm

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband had stayed in February 2012, and did not stop saying how nice it was. So, for his birthday this year I booked us in with our dog Billy. How right he was! From the first phone call until we left there was always an extra attention to detail and personal service, yet never intrusive. As my husband said "It's just that Michael and David have found what they should do, and do it so well". We will hope to get back soon. A private villa in Spain with maid service is something. The Can-y-Bae is something else
Imogen Simon & Billy Holmes

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from a three night stay at the Can-y-Bae , and cannot recommend it highly enough .
Catering for adults only , this small hotel with a theatrical theme is beautifully appointed , food excellent , a warm welcome from Dave and Michael - just perfect in every way .I shall certainly want to return .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just arrived back from the Can-y-Bae Llandudno. Booked after reading the many satisfied reviews posted by previous visitors and the ability to take our spaniel Holly with us. We were welcomed and quickly informed about the hotel and facilities by Dave. The room was comfortable and very clean with a perfect sea view of the sea and promenade. Breakfast was exceptionally good, in particular the freshest eggs you could have, and the amount was enough to keep us going most of the day. The other guests staying were very friendly and we settled comfortably in the bar duting the late evenings very easily. The bar walls are covered in nostalgic film and theatre posters with many signed by them.
Holly was looked after very well and had sausages and bacon wrapped especially for her. She certainly enjoyed the treats provided. Michael advised us where to eat out in a dog friendly restaurant/ pub, The Queen Victoria. It was nice to be able to take our pet with us for a meal.
Llandudno is a lovely resort with lots of things to do and a promenade second to none. Looking forward to going back again to the Can-Y-Bae in the future and seeing a bit more of the of Llandudno and the surrounding areas.
Thank you all at the Can-Y-Bae for a very relaxing couple of days. See you again in the future.

Room Tip: Just ask Dave or Michael for a sea view and I am sure they will accommodate your booking. The more n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirrenRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can-y-Bae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can-y-Bae

Property: Can-y-Bae
Address: 10 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#1 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#3 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Can-y-Bae 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the late nineteenth century the 'Can-Y-Bae' has provided an elegant escape from busy everyday life. Can-Y-Bae is graded as 4 star guest accommodation by the AA & we are proud to offer fully refurbished accommodation with a relaxed elegance and a contemporary twist at the centre of Llandudno's gently curving promenade. Can-Y-Bae has a fully licensed bar and restaurant(table reservations are usually required); a lift is available to all our en-suite twin, double & king-size double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can-y-Bae Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing