We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of The Sunnyside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sunnyside
Ranked #31 of 146 Llandudno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Without doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Our room was classed as a ''superior'' room, which was a tiny attic room, 5m x 4m with a sloping ceiling, which meant you could only stand up in one half of the room, and a 3/4 size bed. The bathroom had a shower attachment, but could not be used as a shower because of the sloping ceiling. Our room and adjacent rooms had a Saniflo system in the bathrooms which would go off like a portable generator every 20 minutes. By classing this room superior, its certainly a case to answer under the trade description act. A truly awful establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdmuk1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnysidellandudno, Owner at The Sunnyside, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2010

These guests did not complain to any staff at all during their 2 day stay.
None of our beds are less than full-size.
The size of this room is larger than any standard room.
The Saniflo does not make a noise unless guests misuse it.
We welcome guest comments, see our other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 315 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at the Sunnyside and were not disappointed at all. The staff were very pleasant, especially the breakfast staff. The breakfast itself was amazing. Everything was cooked fresh and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

The room itself was simply decorated but very clean as was the bathroom. The room was a good size and had more than enough room for 2. We had a room at the front of the house which was lovely, especially in the afternoon sun.

The hotel is in an ideal location, just on the edge of the town centre and is a perfect base to explore Llandudno.

We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a home away from home

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great breakfast the best I've had in Llandudno so far.friendly helpful staff,small twin room but clean and pleasant,didn't spend much time in it anyway..would love to go again soon,LOVE LLANDUDNO,second home!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshireportite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

great place, good location, been here 2nd year running and will be going again next year. nice friendly staff, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenrobWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

My husand and I hired a car and stayed here for 5 nights. North Wales is beautiful in the Autumn with many places to see. We love a seaside town in the Autumn/Winter and Llandudno did not disappoint us. The hotel itself was very warm and friendly. Although the bedroom was basic, it was clean, warm and had everything we needed. At the price we got it for, through Octopus Travel, you couldn't ask for much more!! Breakfast is excellent and is freshly made for you. You choose what you want from the menu and they cook it freshly for you, as well as a selection of cereals, fruit, tea/coffee and toast. We would not hesitate to recommend it and would definately go back some time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolFC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Very nice room , unfortunately internet was down while we were there. Lovely breakfast. I deal Location. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloeCTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed in a standard double room. Parking is a major problem here, through no fault of the hotel, you will be lucky to find a space anywhere in the area, you may find yourself walking 400-500yrds from the nearest vacant spot. We managed to get a space within 2 min walk of the hotel but as soon as we drove away for 5mins it was taken.

The hotel itself was very pleasant with the staff welcoming and friendly; I would describe it more of a large guest house or B&B then a hotel. Although the furnishings were dated and the room very ‘snug’ it had been recently decorated to a modern standard, very clean and made a comfortable stay.

The breakfast was excellent, staff and service polite and prompt, food delicious.

Overall a small but clean and tidy recently decorated room, good service, hotel with a personal feel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skerries3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#42 of 59 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#9 of 59 in Llandudno
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#31 of 59 in Llandudno
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glascoed Guest House
Glascoed Guest House
#9 of 146 in Llandudno
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ascot House
Ascot House
#50 of 146 in Llandudno
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunnyside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside

Address: 2-4 Llewelyn Avenue, Llandudno LL30 2ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Llandudno
Price Range: $67 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunnyside is a friendly, family run 20 bedroom Guest Accommodation in Victorian Llandudno. Situated below the Great Orme and surrounded by all the attractions of Victorian Llandudno. The Sunnyside is the ideal location for your North Wales break, holiday or adventure.The Sunnnyside has a light and welcoming restaurant serving a comprehensive breakfast choice, also our warm and comfortable lounge is ideal for relaxing with a drink from our small bar area in reception. The Sunnyside boasts 20 individually decorated rooms all of which have en-suite bathroom facilities, include colour television and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sunnyside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Llandudno
The Sunnyside Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing