We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel In Llandudno !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
west midlands
2 reviews
“The Best Hotel In Llandudno !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Recently stayed for 3 nights and could not believe the high standards of the hotel for what they charge.My room was very spacious and had a whirlpool bath, luxurious soft furnishings and with an excellent veiw of the great Orme.The staff could not do enough for you and made us feel at home from the moment we entered the hotel.There was an excellent choice for breakfast ,we chose the cooked breakfast it was very good and made with local produce.we will certainly return here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
519
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed here over the new year and enjoyed the relaxed informal atmosphere. we booked a newly decorated room which was done very modern with a lovely bathroom. Room was big aswell. Enjoyed ourselves very much and will return and recomend as a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richandfamous12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel while taking a residential driving course with a local driving school. This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely area of llandudno. I was able to see the sea and the great orme from my window and found this the perfect place to relax after driving all day. The hotel owners are lovely people and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms had been recently decorated to a very tasteful and high standard and the breakfast was spot on.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furlongLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed at The Clontarf Hotel for a 3 day short break during half-term, with my wife and our two daughters aged 9 and 12, having first visited around the same time in 2008. This hotel is a real gem and I'm pleased to report that the same high standards are being maintained by owners Joni and Mark (who are unfailingly friendly without being in-your-face). The charmingly turned-out family room we stayed in had a great 4-poster double bed, and a fold-out sofa bed used by our kids. Bathroom has a spa bath, with a very nice shower added since our last visit. Superb breakfasts - I recommend the excellent full cooked. Indeed, overall I can't recommend The Clontarf highly enough...look forward to heading back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Mark and Joni are fantastic hosts. I cannot fault the hotel at all. The room was very high specification and I stayed in the smallest room of the house, sea view and very modern finish. Really lovely. It genuinely feels like you are coming to stay with good friends, not going to a hotel and you are greeted warmly with a fresh pot of tea.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and in fact have circulated details to my business contacts... the trouble is, it may be full next time I want to visit....
jan walsh

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

On first arrival we were met at the door by Mark, the owner, with a welcome and friendly smile immediateley we felt like we had known him for ages. We were shown to our rooms which have been recently renovated to what i think is a very good standard. The beds(ours was electric) are excellent, bathrooms (especially the power showers) are a high standard too. He had shown us around the hotel to show where everything was. Tea, coffee facilities were excellent. The Hotel is just a 10-15 minute stroll form the town Centre which meant no noise from the pubs, and 2 minutes from the sea, our room has sea views. We asked which Taxi service Mark and Joni could would recommend as the weather was not brilliant they then arranged one for us, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was amazing soo much on offer and would suit any special requirements. Again no trouble for them to do this. We will definately have no trouble in recommending this Hotel too our friends and will most definately come back again next year. Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetsnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Clontarf is a superb little hotel. The rooms, particularly the beds and the showers, are extremely well thought out. Mark and Joni are great hosts, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 59 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#33 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing