We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel. Sue and Rob. Macclesfield”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Everything just right. Very comfortable room, superb breakfast made with excellent local produce and friendly hosts in Mark and Joni - nothing too much trouble. Altogether a brilliant hotel in a lovely quiet location well worth the four stars!

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to contact via e-mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 873 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked here because they are a dog friendly hotel.
From arrival on Thursday evening until our departure on Sunday morning we were made to feel very welcome. We loved the fact that we were given a sausage every day for our dog and she appreciated it too.
The accomodation is lovely and very comfortable and in a fantastic location on the West Shore. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choices.
We have no criticsm to make at all, Joni and Mark are very friendly and welcoming we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustyStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have stayed here at least 5 times over the last 4 years, trying out a different room each time, and the rooms, food and service never fail to disappoint. Mark and Joni give a warm welcome and are on hand to help whenever you need them. On one of my stays I was even given a free upgrade so there was only one other guest staying at the time! I hope to return many more times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Humphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

So, as a couple who normally use 'chain' hotels..you know what you are getting and the rooms are all the same etc. We decided to break from the norm and try The Clontarf and are so glad we did. Mark and Joni were lovely and welcoming, our room (no. 9) was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. As said in numerous other reviews for this hotel, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and they were more than happy to include items that were not on the menu (thank you, the fried bread was delicious!). No hesitations in recommending this hotel, when next in Llandudno we won't be looking for anywhere else to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My daughter and I have returned from spending an overnight stay. Lovely room, lovely couple, brill location, great breakfast, very useful detailed information of places to go etc, if we go back to Llandudno, this is the place we will be staying at. Thankyou Joni and Mark.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which despite the hotel being full we would never have known it as it was so lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOskett0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

What a refreshing change to feel welcomed and trusted as soon as you arrive. Although we only stayed one night we loved this stylishly furnished hotel. Joni and Mark made us feel very relaxed and we liked the quieter location. The other reviewers were right to praise the breakfasts, as good as many large top-notch hotels for choice and better than most for quality. We will definitely stay here again if we come to Llandudno.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Have just stayed here for the second time for a short weekend break. The hotel is fantastic in every way, from the warm welcome on arrival, the spotless rooms which are decorated beautifully and the delicious breakfast. You come away feeling like you've stayed with friends rather than in a hotel. We will definitely be returning !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $70 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing