We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back...”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

A beautiful, homely, relaxing hotel on the West Beach of Llandudno, with stunning views of the Orm and the bay. Ideally placed for a relaxing stay and walks along the West Beach prom and the Orm (if you're fit enough - we weren't this time!!) Only a 10 minute, pleasant walk into the main town of Llandudno, with its wide range of cafes, restaurants, activities and another prom (with a pier too). What more could you ask for? Competetively priced and we got an off-season offer too. We will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_HF_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 873 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were a bit aprehensive about staying a little away from the centre. but we needn't have worried. The Clontarf was a wonderful hotel: Joni and Mark made us very welcome, our room was comfortable, with excellent views over to the hills of Snowdonia.
How nice it was to have a modern bathroom, which rates over many of the other older hotels.
The breakfasts are excellent with a good and varied selection.
We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23johnnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have stayed at this excellent hotel 3 times between December 2013 and March 2014. On each visit the experience has been very good. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the beds, at least the three that we have slept in, are very comfortable. The bathrooms are well equipped, with either a delightful shower or a lovely roll top bath. The whole building is very clean. We were also pleased with the breakfasts. The location of the hotel is very good, being in the West Shore area of Llandudno it is very quiet, but still only a short walk into the town. We will definitely be using the Clontarf again in the near future, and have no hesitation in recommending it to other travellers to Llandudno.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Everything about the Clontarf is excellent! The location, accommodation, tariff, the warm and sincere welcome,and last but by no means least the food. The breakfast is beautifully cooked and presented. If we visit Llandudno again we will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited this hotel and picked it based on the number of positive reviews, we read the negative reviews and dismissed them completely, may I suggest if you are thinking of booking this hotel that you do the same, and book it, you will not be disappointed. The hotel is seconds away from the West Shore beach and a flat ten minute walk into Llandudno itself

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was well presented, warm and very clean. The owner explained everything, including, times and the use of the honesty bar should no one be available to serve you. The lounge is a nice quiet place to relax and the breakfast is among the best we have had anywhere in the world. The ambience of the breakfast room was relaxed, plenty of variety available at the buffet bar, every kind of cereal, fruit, fruit juice, yoghurt and croissants etc
The main breakfast was served at your table and included everything from full Welsh breakfast, toast, pancakes, the list goes on and on. If you're vegetarian you are also very well catered for. In addition to the variety of food available the quality of the food presented is first class too and you certainly don't feel rushed into finishing your meal. A very relaxed affair indeed. nothing seems too much trouble by the owners to try and make your stay comfortable.

Would we stay here again....yes we certainly would in a heart beat. So thank you to the owners and all the staff at The Clontarf hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room which was No 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy_and_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend away at this lovely stylish small hotel. The owners were very welcoming and had a great attention to detail. This hotel has restored my faith in small hotels and B&Bs. Would like to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0hn191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night at this hotel whilst visiting a relative. The owners Mike and Joni were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was lovely and the breakfast was superb. Will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchmore Hotel
The Winchmore Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $70 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing