We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable hosts in a beautiful part of Llandudno”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A wonderful hotel - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable hosts in a beautiful part of Llandudno”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Clontarf hotel on four occasions over the last 2 years (I haven't had the technology to review before now) each time I have found Joni and Mark excellent hosts. They have taken time to get to know my son, are always welcoming and their local knowledge has resulted in some great day trips. The rooms I have stayed in are impressively individual in character, spotlessly clean and terrific value for a couple and a family stay. I will be returning on at least two more occasions before the end of the year and many more times in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
532
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just arrived back from a 1 nights stay at the clontarf hotel, the only criticism I have is that my partner could not get more time off work so we could stay another night. We stayed in the premier supreme room which was just luxurious it was finished to a very high standard including the bathroom and the views of the orme and sea was just beautiful. We had an evening drink in the lovely garden as the weather was fab and chatted to the owner mark who was just delightful. We awoke to a very beautiful breakfast which might I add was at a very high standard,might I just add that reading reviews as where to stay is very important and I came across a recent review which I found quite critical of the room and bathroom this person must be from another planet because I could not find one fault and I'd also like to add that the owners of this hotel must put a lot of hard work and effort to please the public only to read something so negative. We will definitely be going back to this beautiful hotel. Claire&mark

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at the Clontarf for four nights at the beginning of July. Have previously stayed there with family but this time it was just me and the dog (with a few family visitors) in the Metropolitan room: spacious with some luxury touches, really comfortable bed, with the West Shore on the doorstep for morning dog walks, a lovely view of the Orme in one direction and interesting town walks in the other. Joni and Mark made me (and the dog) feel really welcome and even when busy manage to find the time to talk to you. Great breakfasts, too, with plenty of choice. This is a lovely place to stay and there will definitely be a third visit ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we just knew we had made the right choice,Joni was so friendly and relaxed we felt at home immediately. We had a smaller room (teal room) which fitted the bill for us as we were there for just one night, room was nicely furnished and very cosy. Breakfast excellent and served freshly cooked by a lovely lady who was very attentive and friendly. Just look at all the positive reviews this hotel receives and the amount of returning guests and unless you are overly fussy I am sure you will enjoy your stay here. Thankyou to all at the Clontarf. Regards Frank & Lynn (Liverpool couple) .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cards091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Clontarf from 08th July to the 12th July. The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in. We took our pet dog Benjy with us and he was made to feel very welcome. The bedroom was spotless and the decor was really great and very chic. We had a power shower in the bathroom and this was a first for us has never tried one before.
The breakfast were to die for and so much choice.
Toni made us feel very welcome and guided us to the best places to eat and places to go with our dog.
We will definitely be going again and already looking at our calendar for next year.
Thankyou Toni for a great and welcoming stay. Hope next time we get to meet Mark.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Metropolitan room. Lovely room and a great power shower. If you like a high bed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANLANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Clontarf Hotel in the Premier Royale room on the ground floor. We were greeted on arrival by Joni and offered tea or coffee, this was a nice touch. She then showed us to our room and explained everything to us. Although not a small room, the impression from the photos on the hotel's website is that it is larger than it is. The three seater settee is in such a position that, unfortunately, the television is only in view for one person as the rest of the settee is around a corner. The website does state that the ensuite is compact but we did not expect it to be quite so small - it takes only one step to move from the shower to the wash basin to the toilet, space is so limited that when using the toilet our knees were touching the shower screen, and the only place to put a wash bag is on the top of the cistern. Towels have to be kept on a towel rail in the bedroom, this rail is not heated or big enough for the towels to be opened up to dry completely for use the next morning. The ensuite has a very nice shower with two shower heads and massage jets, unfortunately the water temperature was too hot for comfort on even the lowest setting and it was impossible to have a cool shower (which was desperately needed with the hot weather we had during our stay). Sadly we feel the ensuite lets this room down as the bed is really comfortable and the room is very quiet even though it is near the front door. The hotel itself is in a lovely quiet position near the West Shore, within walking distance of the Great Orme and all Llandudno's amenities. Joni was a lovely friendly and obliging host and makes her guests feel very welcome. There was a good choice of breakfast fayre which was cooked to order. If we are ever back in the area we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early July in the Metropolitan room. We were greeted on arrival by Joni, who made us a pot of tea and chatted with us in the lounge while we enjoyed it - Mark was enjoying a few days away at the time of our visit. On going upstairs, she went to great pains to explain the features of the room, in particular the shower, which was as well because I'm not sure I'd have worked it out for myself. The room was spacious and the superking-size bed was very comfortable. My only criticism was that the dark shades over the bedside lights meant that reading in bed was difficult but we got round this by moving one of them on to the shelf above the bed. I mentioned this to Joni as we left and she said she'd try more powerful bulbs, though I was the only guest to have made this comment. Other recent reviews have said all that is necessary about breakfasts, so I'll simply say they were great. There is on-site parking, but there are no restrictions in the streets nearby. Very quiet location - a good 12-minute walk to the centre of town, but very near a sandy beach. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#7 of 60 in Llandudno
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing