We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay !!”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here recently. The hosts were most welcoming. We had the evening meal, which tasted fabulous. Breakfast was just as enjoyable , and set us up for the day . Room was very well presented , with lovely view of the great orme. We will certainly be returning!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 859 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been back to the Clontarf for the second time and it was just like going home,Joni and Mark are a lovely couple and were very helpful with my brother-in-law who has health problems.The bedrooms are 1st class and the food was wonderful.We will be back and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Clontarf last year and bought my parents along this year for a short break, we were not disappointed. The rooms, food and service were exceptional and my parents will not be staying anywhere else on any future trips to Llandudno. Thanks again for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Haddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

just got back from the Clontarf - husbands 50th birthday and stayed there in the romantic room which was lovely - had 2 couples along for the weekend and their rooms equally were lovely - Joni and Mark were wonderful as nothing was too much trouble for them - i had rung Joni before we went to ask if she would be able to get a cake for hubbies birthday to be a surprise and everything was done including the balloons and banners - like previously mentioned the honesty bar is great - all 3 of us couples have said we would go back again - lovely rooms, good location and very welcoming - many thanks to Joni and Mark xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family of four stayed recently at this wonderful B&B. There are no family rooms, so we split between a standard double room (#7) and a superior double room (#9). The standard double room is well laid out and there is enough space to easily move around the room. The flat-screen TV is of a good size and location to view from the bed. The bathroom is very nice and quite roomy for a smaller-sized room. The superior double room exceeded our expectations. This is a very spacious room with a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room is furnished with enough storage space to unpack if you are staying for any length of time. My wife and I agreed that there is a romantic feel to this room. She was particularly impressed with the bathroom, especially the shower. The full breakfast, included in the room rate, was fabulous and filling. There are a variety of menu options to choose from. An evening meal can be prepared with prior notice. There is also an honour bar with a variety of beer and wine to choose from.

Joni and Mark were wonderful. Joni is a true lady who exhibits poise, grace, and hospitality. Mark greeted us upon arrival and served us tea in the relaxing common area before showing us to our rooms. He also helped with identifying some local sights to visit and a nice hiking path.

The location of the Clontarf is at the western side of Llandudno. The area is quiet and you are a short walk from the beach. It is about a ten-minute walk to the main shops, restaurants, promenade, and pier of central Llandudno. There is limited parking on the hotel grounds. However, there is plenty of parking along the streets, which are quite wide.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geomagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in May. For the money there was nothing to complain about at all. The owners were pleasant, obliging and friendly The breakfast was good - with plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The hotel is in a quiet area and there is ample parking in the vicinity of the hotel. We would not hesitate to stay there again if we were visiting LLandudno. It is a 2 minute walk to the quiet beaches, but about half a mile to the pier on the busy side of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I, and two friends stayed for a weekend [ a very wet one unfortunately ] 10th and 11th of May. Joni and Mark were very welcoming, and both of them being motorcyclists, were more than happy to accomodate three bikes at the rear of their forecourt, and had offered to house them securely in their garage.
Breakfast was varied and well cooked, honesty bar an unexpected pleasure. All areas were clean and well maintained.
Evening meals are available by prior arrangement, the location is only ten minutes from town centre for meals and entertainment, but far enough out to be quiet.
My wife and I paid a little extra for the larger room [ room 9] and were very pleased with the bed comfort, shower size and general room size.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,292 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,453 reviews
1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
Bryn-Y-Mor Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: $66 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing