We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious accommodation and friendly hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
ormskirk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodation and friendly hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Heading for Llandudno ? There is only one place - The Clondarf Hotel on the West Shore. We spent last weekend there celebrating my wife's 65th birthday. Superb bedroom and delicious food with excellent hosts Joni and Mark. Even our dog let us know how much he enjoyed it !! Hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkyOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    71
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
514
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 9 which was lovely !
The room was very tidy and stocked up with tea.coffee and plenty of milk and biscuits and nice little touch with the foxes glass sweets

The meal was 3 course which was lovely
I started with a soup the lamb shank and a nice cheesecake washed down with a half craft of white wine all for £38 for the 2 off us

The only disturbance was my wife waking up shout there is a ghost in the room at some early hour of the morning but I think that may have been the two bottles of Asti in the bin haha

All in all superb place to stay and will be coming back


5*****

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madmarcus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had an overnight stay here in one of the suites - Metropolitan. Large and airy with very modern fittings and furniture. Electric beds was a novelty. However thought the room needed an occasional table to use for books or drinks. Sofa felt a bit lumpy but that is just a personal point! Breakfast was served in dining room and was very good. Owners very helpful and friendly. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre so ignore rating!

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room for people with mobility problems. Otherwise the rooms are on a short f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joananyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoniStubbs-Thrush, Owner at The Clontarf Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you both. We area bit confused as to what you mean by 'no fitness centre or swimming pool so ignore rating' , as we do not advertise any such services on our website or any affiliated ones including this Trip advisor site! We would encourage all our guests to visit our website (a link is provided at the top of this page) and check out what we offer. We are a small 9 bedroom family run hotel and offer as many services and facilities as we and our building can accommodate. Thank you very much once again, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a gem, wonderful hosts, only stayed 1night, but will definetly be returning. Excellent evening meal, and breakfast, so much to choose, what a variety. The owners made you so welcome, and rooms were 100% luxury. Very impressed.

Room Tip: Every room is 100%.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second visit this time with friends. I dont often write reviews and definitely not repeat ones but I couldn't resist. The welcome here is wonderful and you have to try the food. Choosing between this fresh, well cooked, locally sourced food and a quick cheap bland frozen to microwave meal in a well known pub chain is a no brainer. Okay so we put on some weight but it tasted so good!!!
Will be back very soon........

Room Tip: Every room is amazing but my favourite remains the romantic.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful single night stay here out of season (room 1), ordered flowers and fruit for our room for our arrival, very attentive service. Great views and a terrific night's sleep. Breakfast superb and kept us going until the evening! Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShotsGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Me and my husband had a short break here in February 2013. The other reviews for this hotel were fabulous and I agree with them all. It's a lovely hotel and the extra luxury touches in the rooms such as the fab drench shower we had in our room and the L'Occitane toiletries really make it stand out from the crowd. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The hotel is in a lovely quiet area only a minutes walk from the West shore beach and only a 10 minute walk to the more lively area near the pier on he opposite beach. The breakfast is the best I have ever had at a hotel - lovely quality products and lots of choice. We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing