We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!! Really Excellent.”
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent!! Really Excellent.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This couple really have got it right when it comes to running a small hotel, the quality of furnishings, the linen, the thought that has gone into the needs of their guests is remarkable, I cannot rate this 9 room hotel well enough, it is exceptional. Really guys; thank you for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Book a table in The Seahorse for dinner while you're in Llandudno, excellent restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi_McBurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    74
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
524
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a great little hotel this is!! Excellent value for money!
Joni and Mark could not have been more hospitable from the day of check in to the day we checked out. The room was spacious and relaxing and it's facilities where perfect and had everything you needed for your stay. The information of the local amenities and things to do was excellent. Breakfast was perfect, plenty of choice and also anything that was not on the menu was made without any fuss. I can not say a bad word about the hotel. As I have worked in a hotel for 8 years I know how hard it is but The Clontarf is a great example of how a hotel should be ran!
If we are ever in the area again we know where to stay.
Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!
Adam and Rhiannon xx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamuk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

You could not get a friendlier welcome, a lovely couple that were very friendly and helpful. The place was beautiful, the rooms were large and spacious, clean and modern with lovely bathroom products. Breakfast had many local ingredients and had plenty to choice from, would definitely recommend and go back again. Thank you. Ricardo and Mark

Room Tip: First floor double with the sea view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales uk
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed just the one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Very homely atmosphere. Lovely. Furnishings, lovely owners, will be going back soon, if they are not booked up! Lovely breakfast, Enjoyed a drink in the 'honesty' bar. Was lie being in my own home, without teenagers arguing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, peaceful stay. A nice walk on the beach, just a stone's throw away. Bring your camera. Enjoy your stay I know you will.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowieWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Everything about Mark and Joni's hotel/BB is amazing. The rooms are cozy. You won't find a better breakfast (my god that omelette), and they helped us plan everything for our wintery weekend. Couldn't imagine having a better stay. And the third night free in the low season made the experience that much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We picked this hotel from Trip Advisor and it didn't disappoint. It was just as described, a luxuryB&B. we were originally booked in for the night before but were not able to get there due to bad weather. Mark at the Clontarf was very accommodating and moved our booking to the next day . It did not disappoint. The room was lovely and had all facilities. The shower was the best I have ever encountered and the bed was electronic! The hotel is situated just a stride from the beach at West shore and a 15 minute leisurely walk from the centre of Llandudno. Breakfast lived up to expectations. It was beautifully presented by Joni and her staff. Nothing is too much trouble her. We enjoyed it so much we have booked to stay again this Thursday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked one night in the Clontarf based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor and I must say it proved to be every bit as good as everyone had previously advised. Mark and Joni are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed our brief stay very much, especially the wonderful breakfast which not only tasted fantastic but looked fantastic too. Would recommend without hesitation and will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 and had one of the best nights sleep we've had in a long while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybugMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#3 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#40 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing