We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Clontarf Hotel gave us a weekend break which we will remember for a long time. The facilities were excellent, and the service was outstanding. From the moment we arrived to a welcome cup of tea in the lounge through to breakfast and the welcoming, attentive and sensitive care, we were in the lap of luxury. The attention to detail was consistent, and the provision of DVDs for our 12 year old son just made his break too. The jacuzzi bath topped everything nicely!
Thank you so much to the team at the Clontarf!

Room Tip: Book early, as the hotel is very popular - can see why!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    71
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
514
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed here at least 5 times in the last 2 years it is everything you could want.
Mark and Joani are fabulous the minute you walk through their door nothing is too much trouble. the room we always stay in is the premiere luxury but soon we are hoping to try the other rooms our friends stay in the romantic room and they love it! A must stay here we recommend it to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

As soon as we arrived at The Clontarf Hotel, we felt welcome immediately. Joni greeted us with a cup of tea which was really appreciated after all the travelling! She sat down with us and told us invaluable information about the surrounding area and the greater North Wales. Within the first half an hour of arrival we knew exactly what attractions we were going to visit. We were also given a list of the top five restaurants in Llandudno which was excellent as it helped us plan where to eat every night.

The bedrooms are of a very high standard and cleanliness. We stayed in the 'Enchanted' and 'Teal' rooms which both came with a flat screen television and en-suite shower.

The breakfast in the mornings was of a very high standard with first class service.

I think that the main thing which makes The Clontarf Hotel such a success are the owners. Mark and Joni could not have made us feel more comfortable and welcome. They are so approachable over any matter and go the extra mile to ensure you have an excellent holiday in Llandudno.

I would urge anyone who is going to Llandudno on holiday to stay at The Clontarf.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

A wonderful small friendly hotel. The breakfast was lovely and the hotel rooms were very clean. Ideally situated for visiting the wonderful sites of North Wales. Would highley recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula-Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

A wonderful hotel with friendly hosts, gorgeous breakfast and a delightful setting. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Provence room totally recommended with glorious view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontneddfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is in a quiet and upmarket part of the West shore. There is plenty of free roadside parking and this area was quiet at night time. The busier East shore was only a short and very pleasant 10 minutes walk away. A footpath onto the Great Orme was directly opposite the Hotel.

Our breakfast was "very good" and we are very fussy eaters! There was an excellent choice of fresh fruits, a good selection of fruit juices, the coffee was lovely and the full cooked breakfast was tasty, well cooked and with plenty of choice. Cereals, yoghurt, tea and toast were also on offer.

We stayed in the 'Enchanted' Luxury King Size Sleigh Bedroom and it was very nicely decorated and with good quality furniture. The long panoramic windows offered great views. The large shower was amazing and the 'waterfall' sink tap very unique.

This was my first visit to Llandudno and we had an absolutely brilliant time there. There are loads of really good places to eat and lots of varied activities too. We even had a fish feet pedicure on the pier! We will definitely visit Llandudno again and The Clontarf will be our Hotel of choice. We can understand why people keep coming back to the Clontarf Hotel visit after visit.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodloverKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Second time we have stayed at The Clontarf Hotel, Mark Joni and the staff work so hard to make this hotel special. The food is delicious , nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are very clean with lovely comfy beds. We hope to stay there again soon .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollywalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
Lawton Court Hotel
Lawton Court Hotel
#2 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#10 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing