We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant-will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clontarf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clontarf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant-will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

A wonderful hotel with friendly hosts, gorgeous breakfast and a delightful setting. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Provence room totally recommended with glorious view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    71
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
513
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontneddfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. It is in a quiet and upmarket part of the West shore. There is plenty of free roadside parking and this area was quiet at night time. The busier East shore was only a short and very pleasant 10 minutes walk away. A footpath onto the Great Orme was directly opposite the Hotel.

Our breakfast was "very good" and we are very fussy eaters! There was an excellent choice of fresh fruits, a good selection of fruit juices, the coffee was lovely and the full cooked breakfast was tasty, well cooked and with plenty of choice. Cereals, yoghurt, tea and toast were also on offer.

We stayed in the 'Enchanted' Luxury King Size Sleigh Bedroom and it was very nicely decorated and with good quality furniture. The long panoramic windows offered great views. The large shower was amazing and the 'waterfall' sink tap very unique.

This was my first visit to Llandudno and we had an absolutely brilliant time there. There are loads of really good places to eat and lots of varied activities too. We even had a fish feet pedicure on the pier! We will definitely visit Llandudno again and The Clontarf will be our Hotel of choice. We can understand why people keep coming back to the Clontarf Hotel visit after visit.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodloverKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Second time we have stayed at The Clontarf Hotel, Mark Joni and the staff work so hard to make this hotel special. The food is delicious , nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are very clean with lovely comfy beds. We hope to stay there again soon .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollywalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

It was my first trip to Llandudno and I dont know how the standard of alternative accommodation in the area compares, but with the quality and hospitality shown at The Clontarf, I wouldn't bother looking. It would I believe, take some beating. I'm only sorry it was a one night business trip and not a few days R&R.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMILES439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had a wonderful 2-night break at the Clontarf. The rooms are luxurious; the food delicious; and the standard of customer service faultless.

It is clear Joni and Mark put their heart and soul in to their business and it shows in every detail. This was our first visit but the volume of repeat business we saw during our stay speaks for itself. The hotel offers outstanding value for money right down to the bar tariff.

Thanks to everyone at the Clontarf for such a wonderful time!

Annette and Robert

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

It was a treat to stay here. The rooms are lovely and really clean, the owners were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Clontarf to catch up with each other and catch some sea air too. The Clontarf is in a great location providing you with the West Shore on your doorstep and a nice gentle stroll to the more well-known promenade - weather permitting that is. We tackled said stroll in a blustery down-pour, which was fun! There are also two other fabulous walks straight from the door - one round the (bottom of) the Great Orme and one to Conwy.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Clontarf. The owners Joni and Mark couldn't be more helpful. They are both really friendly and genuine with it - as are the other staff too. In fact all the guests were friendly as well - it's that kind of place!

The rooms are all very well appointed with flat screen TVs, a good tea-tray, and fabulous en-suites with L'Occitane toiletries. And they are reasonably priced too. The lounge and dining room are both lovely and the food and service surpass expectations.

What's really refreshing about the Clontarf - which of course is down to the owners - is flexibility. Another friend decided to join us for a night and Joni and Mark allocated one of their large luxury doubles for single occupancy as it was the only room left. Not many other places would be so accommodating.

Hats off to Joni and Mark!

...Well maybe you should keep your hat on if it's raining....

Room Tip: Enchanted is enchanting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Affable_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.7 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Hotel
Headlands Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milverton House
Milverton House
#4 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clontarf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clontarf Hotel

Property: The Clontarf Hotel
Address: 2 Great Ormes Road | West Shore, Llandudno LL30 2AR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#4 Business Hotel in Llandudno
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#8 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a break at The Clontarf hotel, located on the peaceful West Shore in Llandudno, you will be only a 10 minute walk from the busy town centre, but also you have the benefit of easy parking (and a car park), a stones throw from the beach and views of the sea or the Orme from all our rooms. We offer everything you would expect from a hotel, including, free Wifi, evening meals, a snack menu, parking, fax service and room service. We have 9 beautiful rooms, to suit all budgets, ranging from standard (£62 B&B for 2) to luxury (£85 B&B for 2)- and they are all individually styled. For luxury without formality choose the Clontarf! Run personally by the owners Joni & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Clontarf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clontarf Hotel Llandudno
The Clontarf Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing