We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Llandudno
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveler rating
227
414
252
89
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
227
414
252
89
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view shearings hotels self drive shearings coach swimming pool dining room evening meal sea front shearings break national holidays three courses meal times served hot public areas turkey and tinsel bar prices restaurant staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020

We have used Shearings for many years but in now in our eighties we have limited mobility problems and prefer a room with shower rather than shower over the bath.

At the Marine Hotel it was necessary to upgrade to Standard Plus for this type of facility and we were given Room 406.

This room was an "attic" room with serious heating problems and a bathroom that was quite small and a hand basin that was ridiculously small. So small in fact that the shelf above the basin had been forcibly removed presumably so that previous occupants could raise their hands from the basin.

Having used Shearings over many years the staff attitude and subsequently that of the customer care team was so dismissive of our situation that we have visited our last Shearing Hotel.

To be fair you generally know what to expect at Shearings. A typical old hotel, with caring staff, good food and reasonable evening entertainment.

Meals at the Marine were at the top end of our Shearings experiences with good friendly staff from many different countries adding to our enjoyment of the restaurant.

Overall though the holiday was spoiled by an indifferent attitude at reception to the quality and cleanliness of the room.

An interesting point arising is that it is Shearing policy not to change bed linen for a 7 day break.

Room tip: Avoid Standard plus rooms on 4th floor (see photo)
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi JOHN71007, I am sorry you had such a poor experience. As you can see from the reviews posted along with yours, we do have caring staff. This is something I will follow up on with the team as normally we do work hard to take care of our customers. How guests feel about the rooms allocated is very personal but cleanliness is not. I will look into this as well. Big thank you for the positive comments you have made regarding the meals. I will also address the team regarding the linen. Linen should be changed part way though a 7 night stay. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Why this hotel only has 3 stars is a mystery to me. The staff are friendly and helpful. The meal selections were varied, and the food itself was tasty and hot. Very comfortable rooms and lovely and warm.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank lulisquib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hi lulisquib, High praise indeed. With a review like this I would expect nothing less than for you to become one of our regulars. Thank you for taking the time to post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Travelled from Stratton interchange, Shearings coach, very comfortable and driver Lee was very chatty, giving us lots of interesting info of places we were going to visit.
Hotel was very good, room on second floor with sea view looked that it had been recently decorated.
Cleaned each day.
Dinner was taken at a given time which proved to be better for our party. Meals each night had plenty of options and food very appetising.
There were four nights excellent entertainment, two comedians (no swearing) a very good singer and the other night an compère who got us all dancing.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
All in all a very enjoyable stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 186sheilap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hi 186sheilap, Great review. So glad we ticked all your boxes so thank you for the post. I will let Lee know he has had a special mention as well as he is a regular at the hotel. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a National Holidays tour. This hotel is situated on the promenade not far from the pier and town centre. There is a lift to all floors for those who are not so mobile. Our room was on the first floor and was serviced every day. Evening meals are staggered but I have to admit this is one of the best run dining rooms I have come across. The staff were very efficient and friendly. No reasonable requests were denied. There was entertainment available every evening. All in all we had a very good week and would certainly pay a return visit.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Rena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hi Rena T, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope you get to pay us a return visit. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Lovely room with sea view good food, good facilities, friendly staff. 5 day holiday booked with my sister in law, her family did it as a surprise birthday present for her, bonus was good weather too. Hotel has nice lounge area looking out over the sea with bar area for drinks and menu for lunches and snacks.

Room tip: There are 4 floors and 2 lifts, seafront rooms and rooms on one side have sea view
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hi Ann D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Great to read that you all enjoyed your stay so I hope you will return. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews