We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The strange case of the collapsing ceiling...”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The strange case of the collapsing ceiling...”
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My father and I stayed here for five nights in May 2008 as part of a Shearings coach holiday. On checking in we noticed that the place had clearly seen better days - in its heyday the Marine Hotel must have been quite luxurious, but it was now looking decidedly tired and run-down.

Our rooms were fairly typical of those in hotels used by Shearings - basic but clean and comfortable. However, there was a very noticable bulge in the ceiling just behind my bedroom door and the plaster had cracked in a few places. On the afternoon of the second day there I returned to my room and found the door partially blocked by a pile of rubble - yes, the "bulge" had finally parted company with the rest of the ceiling!

When I complained I was immediately helped to move to another room, but this incident highlights the urgent need for renovation at the Marine Hotel. Elderly guests should also be warned about the VERY steep bottom step at the hotel entrance.

On the credit side the breakfasts and evening meals were excellent, some of the best I've had at Shearings hotels. The predominantly East European waiting staff do an excellent job despite being rushed off their feet (especially high-speed waitress Eva!)

Although there was room for improvement at the Marine Hotel, I enjoyed Llandudno - a pleasantly old-fashioned seaside resort with little of the litter, drunkenness and general chavviness that spoils so many of its English counterparts.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceShortcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    304
    192
    71
    56
See reviews for
125
395
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

stayed november 07/2008 weekend weather rained all weekend but hotel was very good ,good food and plenty of it entertainment was a very good friday /saturday elvis impersonater was exccellent sunday was comedy magician only average .resident dou very entertaining bar prices same as pub £2.65 apint room very clean hotel well worth a visit would go back a gain















































32.65pint

  • Liked — entertainment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpoolvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The reviews of the Marine Hotel I read before going made me apprehensive as they were all poor!
However we were pleasantly suprised as The Hotel was Lovely; warm, comfortable, friendly helpful staff.
Entertainment was very good for all age groups.
The food was fabulous; hot, plentyful and delicious. plenty of choice too, with generous servings. A great variety of cheese and fresh fruit every evening. All together very nice.
Our rooms had sea views and were well appointed with extras.
The swimming pool was very warm and a good size.
The hotel is in an ideal location for easy access to the promenade, the pier and the shops.
The only critisism would be the prices at the bar, especially the soft drinks. I paid over £1.00 for a small wine glass of lemonade and lime!
The hotel was very good value for money. We were a family ranging in age from 11 years to 84, all five of us enjoyed every bit of our stay and would return willingly.

  • Liked — Spacious hotel, good facilities, no hassell, excellent food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelBWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

The position of the hotel is excellent, 2 minutes from the town of Llandudno with some lovely and unusual shops. The hotel was clean and the staff excellent. The food was good as was the entertainment.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank missie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

After reading previous reviews, we didnt know what to expect. But we had a wonderfull 5 days at the Marine Hotel in Llandudno. Our room was spacious and well presented, with all the comforts that you need. The room was attended to daily. The meals were more than adequate with a great choice every day. The entertainment was much better than most hotels we have stayed in. The pool is a great feature. Overall this is a lovely, homely hotel. We are definately going to stay there again in the future. If you want a relaxing few days away from home The Marine can offer this. The seaview that we paid a little extra for was really well worth it, views all around the bay it was beautifull. It is perfectly placed for all local amenities and trips around and about.

Helpful?
3 Thank Brookdaleparkgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We have just returned from a two nights stay at theMarine. We decided that we weren't to expect too much after reading all the negative reviews, to avoid disappointment. However we were pleasantly surprised. All Shearings hotels are very much the same. Rooms furnished identically, similar menus, and all in need of some refurbishment. Always plenty of tea/coffe, biscuits etc, and toiletries in the bathrooms.But, beds are ALWAYS clean (in our experience) the service is always good and the food is very nice. Yes, there were several foreigners working in the hotel, but each and every one of them were polite, helpful and hardworking. More than I can say for many young brits working in many hotels.They all spoke very good english too, so I don't see why other guests have a problem with them. We paid extra for a big room with sea view. It was well worth the extra. The prom looked delightful lit up in the evening. There's entertainment in the ballroom of an evening which is fine.
OK, it's not the Ritz, but you aren't paying those sort of prices are you! We had a lovely time and wouldn't hesitate to return. We paid MUCH more at a hotel in Bassenthwaite earlier this year, and it wasn't nearly as good as the Marine. We wouldn't return there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jengra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

my husband and i stayed at the marine for our 41st wedding anniversary it was our first visit to this hotel and i had read a few reviews but i phoned the hotel to reassure me that it was ok.i told them it was our wedding anniversary and we wanted a sea view room and we weren't disapointed we had a large room with a seaview spotlessly clean plenty of tea coffee biscuits etc,and toiletries topped up every day the staff were very pleasant and if we required anything they were on hand to help.the food was ok plenty of it but nothing to shout about but we only paid for a three star hotel and i think that's what we got.we have sent a thank you letter to them and would certainly go back again.

  • Liked — the room with huge bay windows of a great sea view
  • Disliked — no comfy chair to sit by window
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jengra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing