We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely long weekend”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Runcorn
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely long weekend”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend at the Marine. Beautiful room 110 with both sea view and side view of great orme. Food good and our waitress was lovely. Overall an excellent weekend as always. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Linda G, Thank you for such a high rating and a good post. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are looking forward to your next visit. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    309
    195
    71
    56
See reviews for
127
402
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Arrived to find our pre booked parking space was of a good size ,Easy check in and then up to our superior sea view room,this was massive could easily have made 2rooms,very comfortable,well furnished ,spotless and a great view, Bathroom also a good size ,clean and had everything we needed,no noise from rooms above which is sometimes a problem in old hotels.
All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful
The hotel is in a good spot right on the prom and very close to town centre
Everything you could want from a hotel and if we had been room only this would have been 4stars.
Unfortunately we were on half board hence only 2 stars,we found the meals very poor quality,compared to the Premier Inn meals we had in our hotels on route the difference was night and day.Shame as we would have liked to have returned.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank focusrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi focusrx, Your review starts off so well with much praise for the car parking, reception staff, room, cleanliness and the general helpfulness of the staff. It is such a shame you found the food such a let down to only give us a 2 blob rating when everything else appears to be so good. Please feel free to contact me as I would welcome your comments regarding the meals. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break with my wife at the Marine Hotel Llandudno.
Very pleased with our room (211) which was plenty big enough for us with a good size wardrobe. This room is on the side of the hotel but it still provides a partial sea view. Room was very clean, it had a good flat screen tv and dressing table. Also a good size bathroom and shower. So certainly no complaints here.

My Mother was in the next (single) room (212) which again had been refurbished and was very pleasant. This room perhaps could benefit from a chest of drawers and a shower attachment over the bath. Other than those points, she, like us, was more than happy with her room.

The food and service in the restaurant was excellent for the money paid. In fact of all the Shearings hotels we have been to this one rates the best for food. The quality and variety of food was first rate.

The entertainment provided was also very good. The resident hosts work hard to ensure the evenings are enjoyable. On Thursday we saw a talented musician and comedian Dave Davis. We were far less impressed with the comedian on tuesday, but then again others may think differently.

To conclude, I can certainly recommend this hotel. It was our first visit to Llandudno. Hopefully we will return and I would have no hesitation in staying once again at the Marine Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a twin room (211) and a single room(212). Both very good, although no shower in 212. Partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP1Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi JP1Surrey, I am glad that the three of you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday with us and thank you for all the positive feed back. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We travelled with National Holidays to our hotel, I liked the look of the splendid frontage when we arrived. The check in was quick and the staff very friendly. The room was for the 3 of us and very big with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The room service was great with fresh towels and beautifully made beds every day. The food was very good with plenty to choose from and very tasty. The staff where very pleasant and helpful. During our stay our grandson had an accident and the care and kindness of the staff was above and beyond their duty, they are a credit to the company. The whole holiday was enhanced by a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: I wish I had requested a sea view, I am not sure if this was possible but it would be worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrookstonKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi CrookstonKendal, Thank you for your post it reads well and I am glad your grandson was well looked after when he had his accident. I hope he has bounced back to his usual self and is well on the mend. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had booked to go camping but due to hurricane Bertha could not put ourselves through it. We were desperate for a break so decided to search for a hotel and booked on the Sunday evening to go the next day. We love Llandudno and The Marine Hotel was an ideal choice. We booked a 4 night self drive, half board deal in a standard room which was all the hotel could offer. We were a little dubious, but need not have worried. The room had been modernised, was spotless, snow white sheets and soft fluffy towels. The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed for our stay, en suite, Tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, hair drier and bedside lamps. We are well travelled and have stayed in lots of beautiful hotels, but found this hotel more than adequate for our stay.
The food was lovely and the hotel staff were more than helpful. Yes the hotel is in need of decorating, but we could not fault it. Thank You for a great, enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A sea view would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi billie g, It has been a bit blowy lately and I understand your choice not to camp. It is good that having chosen the Marine Hotel that you had such a good time and I appreciate the praise for the hotel staff. May be we will see you again the next time the wind picks up, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My son and I stayed at the Marine on a Shearings coach holiday. Lovely big twin room overlooking the sea. everywhere was spotlessly clean and all the staff were friendly and hard working.Decor in the corridors was a little tired but the lounge/bar areas and dining areas were fine. Ideal location being near to the shops,pier and beach.Food was fine with a good choice for the evening meal. Breakfast was good with cereals, fruit, porrige,toast and a full english (welsh?) breakfast Service was quick and efficient. Would certainly stay here again but probably not with Shearings after the farce on our return journey at Normanton Interchange. But thats another story...............

Room Tip: worth paying extra for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Puffydee, It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us even if you do not travel by coach. Other guests book Hotel Breaks and travel either by car or by train, the train station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Thank you for your review, Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stopped here with my husband and parents for a long self-drive weekend in August. Please don’t be put off by the hotels ranking on Trip Advisor. The whole experience from checking in to checking out was very good. Bedroom was an adequate size and recently decorated (2nd floor). Bed was very comfortable and room kept very clean. Yes, the hotel is a little dated and worn in places plus the corridors are a labyrinth, but look beyond that and it is most welcoming and great value for money staying half board when compared to the other hotels on the sea front. Staff were always polite and worked very hard. There was always something on the menu we found to our liking (and my dad can be fussy). Been to Llandudno many times before and would stop here when we come again. It is worth up grading for a sea view and paying for a parking permit which guarantees a space behind the hotel if arriving by car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amos100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Amos100, I am pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and that you are looking to return. Thank you for the good review and I look forward to your next visit. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
772 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#39 of 60 in Llandudno
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing