We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get more than you pay for”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just back from a great break at this hotel. Yes, it has definitely seen better days and on rooms and common areas just and only just scrapes into the 3 star category. Some rooms are rather dingy and others have had a bit of a spruce up so what you get can be luck of the draw.

BUT:

Location is excellent: bang in the middle of the seafront and only a few yards from an interesting shopping centre;

Food was absolutely excellent: good full English breakfast, excellent 3 course eveving meals. We did not have a single meal that was not excellent.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

We paid only £129 for 4 nights half board including coach travel of more than 200 miles, got single rooms, one half day and one most of day excursion AND 4 free drinks each on the so-called Gala Night. I defy anyone to whinge about that.

I'm not one for evening entertainment so didn't stay for it. Friends reported it as variable but always acceptable.

Llandudno was interesting and spotlessly clean. I would not hesitate to recommend a break there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank LovelyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi LovelyDevon, Thank you for your post and stating that your break was such excellent value for money. It is good to read you enjoyed your holiday with. We are working towards improving the décor of the hotel with more rooms being refurbished in February. Our rating comes from the services and facilities we offer so thank you for praising the meals, staff and entertainment. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 832 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent a long weekend in Llandudno and visited many of the local attactions and went on many walks. The hotel was clean even is the rooms were a liitle tired. The price we paid was good for bed breakfast and evening meal. The entertainment on site was a reasonable quality.
Service and the food was good.
We too paid for a guaranteed parking space and I would suggest that is essential if going out and about.
Finally after a long walk in the cold with snow still on the ground we were pleasantly surprised with the swimming pool, very warm although limited changing facilities.

Room Tip: You don't need a sea view unless you plan to spend many hours sitting and gazing out of the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jezbar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Jezbar99, Sounds like a good all round break which is brill. Just so you all know we are about to have a load more rooms refurbished in February giving the hotel a good lift. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

long trip to hotel did not enjoy travelling with shearings due to 2 hour lay over at stretton interchange. Hotel accommodation in susperior seaview room and entertainment very good. Shame about the food, breakfast was good evening meals were a disaster and of poor quality,
Recommend if staying at the hotel book bed/breakfast only in superior room,

Room Tip: worth extra money for superior room with seaview, standard rooms little on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi denise r, Your review reads that your holiday experience with us was a bit mixed which is a shame. I acknowledge your comments about the travel but we do the best we can to ensure customer comfort with continued investment in new coaches. Regarding the evening meals, I would recommend to all travellers that if you do not like a meal to speak to a duty or restaurant manager with specifics of what you did or did not like about the meal. We might be able to do something for you. As it is we use lots of fresh produce and make most menu items from scratch. Thank you for scoring us so highly and for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have visited Llandudno numerous times and my Mother wished to revisit last September. The self drive package suited us best and we chose to drive to the hotel for a 7 night stay.

We paid around £35 extra to have guaranteed parking at the hotel, and this was a real bonus as parking can be very difficult near to the hotel. We were possibly the last guests to arrive and on arrival,it was a relief to find we had a designated parking space with our car registration number printed on a sign by the space. We never had any trouble with anyone "pinching" our parking space or parking badly preventing us from parking!
However, I am glad that I left my estate car behind and used my mum's golf as the parking spaces are quite tight.

We booked a superior sea view room and were very happy with this. Our room was located on the corner of the hotel so we had dual aspect views of the Great Orme and the promenade.

The superior room was very spacious, quiet and comfortable, had a seating area by the window , flat screen TV and also tea and coffee making facilities.The beds were also very comfortable and we both enjoyed quality sleep! I would highly recommend the superior rooms. I wouldnt suggest leaving a window open as there are "over friendly seagulls" !!

We were on a half board basis and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts as there was a choice of cooked, continental, fruit,fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts, etc. For the evening meal there was always a choice of menu,I think 3 courses plus tea or coffee.

There were also several lounges for guests to use, and an information folder detailing local attractions in the foyer.

There was regular entertainment, but my Mother and I did not participate, but the comments we overheard, was that it was good. There is also an indoor pool, but we did not use this.

The location of the hotel is very good as it is literally just across the road from the promenade, and a few minutes walk to the start of the main shopping area. There is also a doctors surgery and chemist just around the corner if needed!

About 5 mins walk away there is a small shopping complex with a fair sized Debenhams and other shops.The main shopping areas has the usual selection of shops including a large M&S.

I found the staff at the hotel to be very courteous, particularly the receptionist who even tried to book me a hair appointment when I mentioned that I fancied a re-style!! The chambermaid or rather chamber-man was excellent, very polite / very thorough and our room was always cleaned early. Service in the restaurant was always prompt and courteous.

I would definately recommend a stay at the Marine and a stay in a superior room ( I cannot comment on the standard rooms as I did not see these).

I am a travel agency manager with many years experience,and have stayed in many different grades of hotel world wide. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I am In fact taking my Mother back to the Marine this year. It is a friendly, well located hotel in a Victorian sea front hotel.

Shearings/ Bay have now introduced a scheme where for £10 you can book a specific room number. I have paid to do this and was contacted yesterday by the reservations department and we have the same room that we stayed in last year.

Room Tip: If budget allows, go for a superior sea view room. If driving, pay the £35 for reserved parking, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi fionaan, Thank you for your review. It was good to read especially as you are a travel agent manager. It is also good to read that you both enjoyed your break so much that you are both returning this year. Thank you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for a short 3 night weekend break. We booked through Shearings as independent travellers. The stay included breakfast, evening meal and a gala night drinks voucher for four free drinks each. There was a good choice of menu at both breakfast and the evening meal, and the quality of all the meals was excellent. The service was speedy in the restaurant, so no long leisurely meals if that's what you like. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is in a lovely position on the front and quite central to the town centre and shops. We personally didn't have any problems parking, however the parking on some roads are restricted during the daytime, and the hotel car park is small and there is a charge and booking required.
We had a double bedroom on the third floor with a sea view. The room was warm and comfortable with good facilities, flat screen tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, although the en-suite was small (shower only) and the décor somewhat plain.
The hotel provided entertainment each night that consisted of a variety of singers, bingo, and a quiz, this was mainly aimed at the over 50's audience however I don't know if this would change in high season to cater for more young families!
We did try the swimming pool and had the luxury of having it to ourselves, it was warm and clean, with male & female changing rooms and showers at the side of it.
Yes the hotel itself is rather dated with creaking floorboards etc but it is Victorian and this all adds to its charm and atmosphere.
All in all it was a lovely weekend and very good value for money, and yes we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 372AnneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Anne R, Are you related to Ariley1993 who reviewed below? Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for a short 3 night weekend break. We booked through Shearings as independent travellers. The stay included breakfast, evening meal and a gala night drinks voucher for four free drinks each. There was a good choice of menu at both breakfast and the evening meal, and the quality of all the meals was excellent. The service was speedy in the restaurant, so no long leisurely meals if that's what you like. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is in a lovely position on the front and quite central to the town centre and shops. We personally didn't have any problems parking, however the parking on some roads are restricted during the daytime, and the hotel car park is small and there is a charge and booking required.
We had a double bedroom on the third floor with a sea view. The room was warm and comfortable with good facilities, flat screen tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, although the en-suite was small (shower only) and the décor somewhat plain.
The hotel provided entertainment each night that consisted of a variety of singers, bingo, and a quiz, this was mainly aimed at the over 50's audience however I don't know if this would change in high season to cater for more young families!
We did try the swimming pool and had the luxury of having it to ourselves, it was warm and clean, with male & female changing rooms and showers at the side of it.
Yes the hotel itself is rather dated with creaking floorboards etc but it is Victorian and this all adds to its charm and atmosphere.
All in all it was a lovely weekend and very good value for money, and yes we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariley1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Ariley1993, thank you for such a good review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I had 5 days (4 nights) with Shearings arriving on 6 January . Having done various coach holidays with other firms this was the best yet .This large hotel standing on the front and a very short (2 minutes) from the shops now has a ramp to the ,main door. The meals were in our opinion superb choice and always plentiful . (Being a clergyman to be served by a good Spanish waiter called Jesus was an added bonus!) Not used though to paying £15 or more for a bottle of wine ...they might do better to offer a cheap one. ! Tahnkfully on the Wednesday we had vouchers for 4 drinks!
Our large bedroom was in fact a standard family room (one double and one single). Newly refurbished it was superb and even had a small table with two armchairs. The new bathroom was great though I personally ask why in these save the world days they still have baths as well as a shower ! We arrived whilst the Welsh west coast was being battered by the atrocious weather. Our windows faced west so with the howling winds and rain some did try and get through the oldish sash windows where there was gap ! The rolled up Daily Express stuffed down reduced the gale to a light breeze and If I had used the Times it may have been better.! The entertainment (with of course the bingo as well) was good and most enjoyable
All staff were pleasant and helpful so all in all what a great hotel and for us real value for money. Sorry we didnt try the swimming pool .

Room Tip: We had room 224 which in fact is a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Glyn J, It is good to read that you had a good stay with us and you found the Shearings coach holiday at the Marine to be the best yet. The weather we had was shocking with the high winds but you will have to come back when the conditions are better and try our pool. Thank you for the post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#24 of 59 in Llandudno
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#20 of 59 in Llandudno
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
1,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel
Hydro Hotel
#30 of 59 in Llandudno
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: $108 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing