We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$202
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
$115
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$476
$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Llandudno)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
$143
$133
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tynedale Hotel(Llandudno)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaclyffe Hotel(Llandudno)
$98
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Bay County Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveler rating
168
344
205
75
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
344
205
75
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewself driveshearings hotelsswimming poolshearings holidaysea frontdining roomevening mealcoach driverserved hotturkey and tinselsuperior roommeal timesflat screen tvplenty of hot watersingle rooman enjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 853 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for a short 3 night weekend break. We booked through Shearings as independent travellers. The stay included breakfast, evening meal and a gala night drinks voucher for four free drinks each. There was a good choice of menu at both breakfast and the evening meal, and the quality of all the meals was excellent. The service was speedy in the restaurant, so no long leisurely meals if that's what you like. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is in a lovely position on the front and quite central to the town centre and shops. We personally didn't have any problems parking, however the parking on some roads are restricted during the daytime, and the hotel car park is small and there is a charge and booking required.
We had a double bedroom on the third floor with a sea view. The room was warm and comfortable with good facilities, flat screen tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, although the en-suite was small (shower only) and the décor somewhat plain.
The hotel provided entertainment each night that consisted of a variety of singers, bingo, and a quiz, this was mainly aimed at the over 50's audience however I don't know if this would change in high season to cater for more young families!
We did try the swimming pool and had the luxury of having it to ourselves, it was warm and clean, with male & female changing rooms and showers at the side of it.
Yes the hotel itself is rather dated with creaking floorboards etc but it is Victorian and this all adds to its charm and atmosphere.
All in all it was a lovely weekend and very good value for money, and yes we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 372AnneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Anne R, Are you related to Ariley1993 who reviewed below? Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for a short 3 night weekend break. We booked through Shearings as independent travellers. The stay included breakfast, evening meal and a gala night drinks voucher for four free drinks each. There was a good choice of menu at both breakfast and the evening meal, and the quality of all the meals was excellent. The service was speedy in the restaurant, so no long leisurely meals if that's what you like. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is in a lovely position on the front and quite central to the town centre and shops. We personally didn't have any problems parking, however the parking on some roads are restricted during the daytime, and the hotel car park is small and there is a charge and booking required.
We had a double bedroom on the third floor with a sea view. The room was warm and comfortable with good facilities, flat screen tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, although the en-suite was small (shower only) and the décor somewhat plain.
The hotel provided entertainment each night that consisted of a variety of singers, bingo, and a quiz, this was mainly aimed at the over 50's audience however I don't know if this would change in high season to cater for more young families!
We did try the swimming pool and had the luxury of having it to ourselves, it was warm and clean, with male & female changing rooms and showers at the side of it.
Yes the hotel itself is rather dated with creaking floorboards etc but it is Victorian and this all adds to its charm and atmosphere.
All in all it was a lovely weekend and very good value for money, and yes we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariley1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Ariley1993, thank you for such a good review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I had 5 days (4 nights) with Shearings arriving on 6 January . Having done various coach holidays with other firms this was the best yet .This large hotel standing on the front and a very short (2 minutes) from the shops now has a ramp to the ,main door. The meals were in our opinion superb choice and always plentiful . (Being a clergyman to be served by a good Spanish waiter called Jesus was an added bonus!) Not used though to paying £15 or more for a bottle of wine ...they might do better to offer a cheap one. ! Tahnkfully on the Wednesday we had vouchers for 4 drinks!
Our large bedroom was in fact a standard family room (one double and one single). Newly refurbished it was superb and even had a small table with two armchairs. The new bathroom was great though I personally ask why in these save the world days they still have baths as well as a shower ! We arrived whilst the Welsh west coast was being battered by the atrocious weather. Our windows faced west so with the howling winds and rain some did try and get through the oldish sash windows where there was gap ! The rolled up Daily Express stuffed down reduced the gale to a light breeze and If I had used the Times it may have been better.! The entertainment (with of course the bingo as well) was good and most enjoyable
All staff were pleasant and helpful so all in all what a great hotel and for us real value for money. Sorry we didnt try the swimming pool .

Room Tip: We had room 224 which in fact is a family room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Glyn J, It is good to read that you had a good stay with us and you found the Shearings coach holiday at the Marine to be the best yet. The weather we had was shocking with the high winds but you will have to come back when the conditions are better and try our pool. Thank you for the post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed with our son for a long weekend - our second visit to a Shearings hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we had no complaints regarding the food. There was a choice for all three courses and the service was good. We booked a room for three and I was apprehensive as to whether it would be a bit cramped, but the room (122) was clean, comfortable and spacious. It had obviously been refurbished recently. The bathroom, also, was perfectly adequate - our only complaint would be that with only one short towel rail, there was not enough drying space for towels in a family room which could potentially have been used by 4 people. We used the swimming pool on two occasions which obviously meant we had extra towels to dry off. It was not a major problem because we draped them over a chair next to the radiator and dried them that way.
There was entertainment each evening which seemed to be enjoyed by the majority of guests. We had not particularly booked the hotel because it had entertainment but found the different acts to be good.
We reserved parking for the car in advance at the hotel which we were glad about, because we are not sure how easy it would have been to find parking nearby. The adjacent streets had time restrictions on them of - I think - 90 minutes but we did not investigate any car parks in the vicinity.
All in all, we had an enjoyable trip and found the hotel to be excellent value for money.

Room Tip: 122 is a spacious family room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeMaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi MeMAWirral, I am glad you found the staff to be so friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed all of what the hotel has to offer. You are correct about the parking on the side streets, 90 minutes waiting between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. with pay and display on the sea front between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. The hotel car parking does offer a lot more convenience. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Short weekend trip, our first in the winter and we found the hotel a little cold on arrival but by bedtime it had warmed up to comfort level. Basic room was adequate but we find Sheerings policy of different classes of room and charging a fiver a day for parking a bit snobby and totally mercenary and the bar prices prove that Dick Turpin is alive and employed by Sheerings.
Staff, food and entertainment were all excellent and the swimming pool a bonus. All in all a good break and we will be back

Room Tip: worth a 'bit' extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOXMAN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi BOXMAN57, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return. We aim to offer value for money and to give guests a choice of rooms and facilities during their stay. No snobbery intended, most view the extras as treats to themselves that are normally well received. Thank you for your post, Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews