We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Llandundo is a nice seaside resort, but hotel room, not good”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Exmouth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Llandundo is a nice seaside resort, but hotel room, not good”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room was in poor condition, a bit tatty, but the bathroom was appalling to say the least, the approx size was about 5 feet x 3 feet, if one sat on the loo, your legs were underneath the tiny wash hand basin, a little difficult for me due to me being semi-disabled, the shower was claustrophobic, you couldn't shower properly as the shower was so small.
We asked the hotel reception/manager MarcusI for an alternative room or to pay for an upgrade, but unfortunately he stated there were no other rooms available.
I must say all the staff were very pleasant and the food was OK, we would return to Llandudno, but most certainly NOT to this hotel

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyD-S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi jimmyD-S11, I am sorry the room was not to your liking. I do not know which room you were in, but we are having a number of rooms being refurbish in couple of weeks. Thank you for praising the staff. If you are coming to Llandudno again, please give us a call so we can discuss the room you need. Not all the rooms are the same so I am sure that we can organise for you to have a room that meets your needs. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    307
    195
    71
    56
See reviews for
127
399
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have been to this hotel quite a few times in the past and enjoyed it for what it is, but this time there seemed to be a catalogue of errors which when complained about fell on deaf ears with patronising words of appology, so we won't be returning again.
Firstly i had taken the trouble to ring up and ask if the 5 people in my party could be seated in the small dining room, (we have been in there before with even bigger parties) and i was told that would not be a problem, however when we got there we were told that we had to go in the large dining room, i told them i had phoned to request the small one and the receptionist looked at me as tho she didn't understand and quickly said that it was not available as there was a big private party using it all weekend,this not true as we met several people that were dining in there and they told us they had nothing to do with any private party, we were just being lied to because our request had been ignored, Then we went down to dinner looking forward to the chef special only to be told that it had run out which was very annoying, we had to have the second choice which was a very small helping of chicken and veg, the next evening we couldn't even get the sweet which was on the menu as that had also run out leaving a choice of ice cream or very basic cheese and biscuits. if the menu was not so limited in the first place, it would not be a problem when things ran out, the staff are running around like maniacs resulting in the waitress reaching to far over our table to grab empty plates and knocking our wine everywhere, as we were dressed for dinner this could of been a disaster. even tho our rooms were ok, one of our party had no heating or water all weekend and just ended up showering in one of our other rooms. Time for a change for us

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Sandra R, I am genuinely sorry you did not get what you wanted with the table in the dining room and the short comings with service. We always do our best with requests but it is not always possible to accommodate everyone and I do think it harsh that you should call us liars because of it. I would suggest that anyone who is not happy with the response given by any member of staff should approach a member of the management team for the situation to be clarified. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel looks ok from the outside, but not as good as it's neighbours. Inside the general areas, the lounge and dinning rooms are good. The food and service could be rather better, the very nice foreign waitress had never heard of a bacon sandwich.
The room was rather disappointing with a very small television and bathroom, and the shower small with plenty of black mould.
After two nights I noticed a large notice at the entrance suggesting a room upgrade, I enquired, but the hotel was full ie. nothing available. Fine perhaps for people who had been there before and maybe been forewarned. This would seem to be a two tier hotel, I believe all rooms should be of equal quality.

Room Tip: Sorry, did not try fitness or pool, but remember ask about upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi Steve t, It is true that we have had very good occupancy levels lately with all the upgraded rooms being occupied. We offer various standards of room that range from, standard to Standard Plus, Superior and Premier Rooms, each with different supplements. We are addressing the TV's as we refurbish the rooms and more rooms are being refurbished next month. I do hope the waitress was able to resolve the bacon sandwich for you. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with national holidays.
Hotel is in a good location right on the prom and a street down from the shops,big steps to enter hotel so may be difficult for some people.
Hotel is very dated and in need of some tlc,coridors are small and dark,we had to walk through the entertainment area to get to the lift/stairs which isnt ideal.
Rooms are a good size but dated and not the cleanest,beds were comfortable,tv only had a few channels,no freeview,bathroom was really small and had hand rails in awkward places,water pressure poor.
We paid extra for a sea view room,the view was great what you could see as the windows were dirty and had dirty peeling paint.Maid service ok but didnt clean the carpet at all.
Food was good but small portions and the resturant was quiet small.
This hotel is mainly for the older genetation and the entertainment was aimed at them.
Overall poor but location made it bearable,think they are trying to do it up so hopefully will improve it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheshirecat495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello tildsley495, I am sorry you did not find the accommodation to your liking and that the room was not cleaned well enough for you. I would like to think that if you had told us of your dissatisfaction at the time that we would have taken action to achieve a positive outcome for you. The water pressure has been addressed since you stayed and we are due to have more rooms refurbished in a couple of weeks time. When this happens we will be getting flat screen TV's with built in free view. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The meals were excellent - small, but well presented and an interesting menu. Room spacious, clean and comfortable, but the window did not open and although I had a bath there was no shower attachment. Sea view made up for that. The swimming pool was an assett, the corridors had chipped and ageing paintwork which made it feel tired and old. The entertainment was old-fashioned and 'corny'.
This hotel is ideal for older people - warm, comfortable and conveniently placed for shops, seafront, tourist bus (which I thoroughly recommend, excellent commentry)
overall, you get what you pay for and it was good value for money.

Room Tip: don't expect 4 star luxury,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldhopperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi worldhopperUk, thank you for such a good write up and for scoring us so highly for service and cleanliness. I would hope that a hotel that is warm, comfortable and conveniently located would not just appeal to the older people. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Food was appalling and totally inedible...apart from toast at breakfast, wine was awful too. Staff friendly and mostly eastern European. Room was dreadful, tacky and not all that clean. Like a dark rabbit Warren on 2nd floor where we stayed. Evening entertainment was funny but very old fashioned. Will never go back! Overpriced and awful!!! Paid for parking space which was at another hotel down the road. Bed was rock hard and couldn't even turn round in bathroom it was so small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi jane l, I am sorry you did not find the hotel to your liking but I do not agree with your comments regarding the meals we serve being awful. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As a party of 4 people, we had a self-drive holiday based at the Marine Hotel in Llandudno.This hotel is a 'Bay' hotel, & the holidays are run by Shearings Group. We had a long weekend ( Friday to Monday), & although the weather was not the best,we enjoyed the facilities of the hotel.I used the swimming pool a couple of times, & the pool was lovely & a real asset when the weather deteriorated, The quality of the food was very good, being hot & of good quality. My wife & I paid extra for a sea view, & we found this a good option as our room was much larger than our friends' room which was a 'standard' room. They had no real view, but as they were late in booking, they couldn't get a sea view room. Value for money, this hotel is excellent compared to other hotels in the same area of Llandudno

Room Tip: A sea view room is much better, especially if the weather makes you stay inside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Glyn W, Thank you for taking the time to make a post. It is good to read that you and your friends enjoyed your holiday with us. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
750 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing