We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
brum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

we were here for five days in january, holiday started badly as the central heating wasnt working. were given second room where the central heating wasnt working. then joe on reception said he would upgrade us, and gave us a beautiful room with separate sitting room. thank you joe for making our break a good one. we went back here in march for our anniversary and were given lovely twin room on sea front. all the staff are very competent and good at their jobs. food was good. we recommend shearings holidays wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: book an upgrade or a sea view refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancerbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Dancerbrum, Really glad you enjoyed both your stays with us and that Joe was able to resolve the issues you experienced on your first visit. Many thanks for your post; perhaps we will see you a third time. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    303
    191
    72
    56
See reviews for
124
392
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Having just returned from a 4 night stay in the Bay Marine Hotel, we are totally relaxed and know we have had a complete break. Everything about our stay was perfect. The Staff were so helpful, the food was good, my husbands Coeliac and Diabetic condition was very well catered for, even arranging for a fridge in the room for medication storage. It was clean, good decor, warm and well organised all round. I would not hesitate to go back to this establishment again. The entertainment also was very good especially on the Wednesday evening and all ages were catered for. A great time was had by all 4 of our party.

Room Tip: We had a room in the side road with a full view of the sea and the Great Orm, therefore it was shelt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bennettjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Bennettjennifer, Many thanks for your review, we clearly ticked all your boxes. Hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Found hotel ok,on a shearing break 4nights,for what I paid it was good value for money,reading what some people write if you want 4or 5 star you will have to pay more,staff were very good room clean and ample for what i needed,food was ok,only little moan is need more staff in the bar and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank post1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi post1981, thank you for taking the time to post a comment and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

A group of 17 of us stayed for three nights, Friday to Monday in March. We upgraded to a premium room when we booked - as at previous breaks in Coast and Country Hotels the standard rooms were cramped, cold and needed updating. Our Premium room was spacious and clean but the mattress on the bed was too small for the base and too deep which caused problems with access. Friends who paid £5 a day for parking at the rear of the hotel found the system chaotic.
Breakfasts were good but the evening meal was poor in quality and taste. Waiting staff were over stretched at mealtimes in the small dining room. One waiter had 35 covers. There were not enough deserts one night and a very poor substitute was offered.
This was a budget break and seemed very popular. I would rather forfeit the four free drinks a day and have better quality food.
This hotel is in a prime position in Llandudno and has increased in size. It's a pity that the refurbishment is so slow, meaning that many of the standard rooms are below standard (reported by our friends). We enjoyed Llandudno with good friends but it was paying for an upgrade that made the stay comfortable (apart from literally climbing in and out of bed).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank oapChesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi oapChesire, I am glad you enjoyed your upgraded room. We are currently having rooms refurbished at the moment and do have plans for more refurbishment next year as well. With the car parking, when guests arrive, individual spaces are marked with the name of the guest who has booked it and their car registration number. The only issue we normally endure is guests who do not park correctly in the spaces and this we police as best we can. I hope your party enjoyed their stay and thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Shearings weekend break, costing £148 for 2 for 2 nights (15th-17th March). Fawlty Towers attitude of staff - we were delayed by an RTA and arrived 20 minutes late, about which we telephoned, but staff refused to keep our dinner (for which we had paid) by for us. Shabby room with rusty squeaking hinges, filthy undusted surfaces that gave me asthma, blurry TV, owing to dislodged aerial, unusable shower (because the well filled to overflowing in half a minute and would not drain), dirty window we could not see out of, ripped bed cover with stuffing exposed. My husband sustained an injury to his finger trying to sort the shower waste, and fixed the squeaking door with his own WD40. None of our complaints was addressed at the time, except the bed cover, and the replacement one was quite stained. Llandudno is a lovely spot, though, even in the rain, but it's Travelodge from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Angela H, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have record of a couple of issues raised whilst you were here and they were signed off as completed. I am aware that your husband sustained injury to his finger trying to sort the shower waste; I would not recommend using a razor to undertake such a task to any guest. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

the marine hotel needs a massive refurbishment very friendly staff very good entertainment but the whole hotel needs decorating and refurbishing food was not very good breakfast was fine but the evening meal wasnt very good but for the price we paid we couldnt grumble there was a man and wife team on on the friday night they were fab he played the organ and told jokes and she had a beautiful voice it would be worth going back to just see them again when she sang nessun dorma she blew us away excellent entertainment

Room Tip: sea view rooms would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi gill009, Thank you for taking the time to post and for praising the staff and the entertainment. Sorry to hear the food was not to your liking our chef uses lots of fresh ingredients and takes pride in the meals he produces. Perhaps we'll see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was on a Shearings holiday to Wales from 11th march for five days, and what a good time was had by the six of us,I must start with Brian our coach driver he had us laughing in our chairs,he also knew the local area very well,told us all the best places,Cowry's,little Orme etc etc.
The hotel you get what you pay for,You must remember it is a old hotel the hotel is a little dated in area's,but if you look closely it is slowly being done up, whilst we were there they had a load of new furniture being delivered. the room I had was clean tidy had every thing I asked for, a clean bed and hot water and a warm room yes and the floorboards do creek heard upstairs every movement, on a negative have stayed in a bay before and have had shampoo and shower gel,biscuits. As other have said the staff are very good .
The food was a little hit and miss at times, evening meals were lovely could have been a little hotter loved the cheese and biscuit , breakfast had a very good choice cereal,grapefruit etc etc eggs could have done with being hotter,but otherwise over all very good.
Entertainment was different Bingo very slow,but the comedian was very good and so was the duo act, quizz etc etc.we also had the drinks vouchers and it was a very good deal yes you can upgrade you drink for a extra 50p/£1.00 not much in the scheme of things especially if you like a particular brand, and we didnt have to queue for very long , you can also go to the other bar if busy. so overall we had a very pleasant stay and yes would go to it again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi darbon, I am really pleased that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Property: Bay Marine Hotel
Address: Vaughan Street, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing