We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed Friday 1st Feb until Mon 4th Feb self drive break.Great value for money.We were with friends and were allocated rooms 320 and 321 both had a sea view which we hadn't anticipated having but were a nice bonus and both rooms were clean and tidy. The meals were good with plenty to choose from with self service cereal,fruit and juice at breakfast followed by hot breakfast of your choice and you were able to request extras if required e.g toast and coffee.The evening meal had choice of starters,main and pudding plus a vegetarian option. So there was no way that you could go hungry.We were looked after by a very efficient,nice, polite and smiley Edel(Thankyou) on table 30.The entertainment was good there was a different act on each night covering all peoples tastes.Bar prices were slightly higher than a pub but we each had four free drinks on the Saturday night so that was a cheap night.We never used the pool but did go to check it out and it seemed ok and the water was warm.After seeing the reviews saying the hotel was cold I took some extra cardigans to wear at night but they were not required as there was sufficient heating throughout the hotel in fact it was a little too warm at times but others might have liked it that hot. We found the staff friendly and helpful.The hotel decor looks a little tired but it must be a 24/7 job to keep this old building going and it didn't detract from a most enjoyable weekend.We hope to return later in the year.Thank you to all at the Marine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi mary d, Really glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your review it reads very well. I will let Edel know you have given her some praise too. Hope to see you soon. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Bay Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 800 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have just returned from a four day break at the Marine hotel. Unfortunately I cannot agree with a lot of the negative reviews unless we were extremely fortunate. We found all staff very pleasant - the waiters/waitresses were particularly attentive and meals were brought out speedily. The portions were not massive but with three courses who needs a massive plateful. Choice was good and everything was cooked nicely.

I do not know what some people expect . We had a twin room at the back of the hotel (room 135) on the first floor, directly over the entertainment room. It was lovely and warm and we were never short of hot water, in fact it was too hot sometimes. We had no view whatsoever, a bit of a creaky floor and OK we could hear a bit of music from below but only up to about 11.15pm - no problem. .We really enjoyed the brilliant entertainment, the food, the excursion and the proximity of the hotel to the shops etc was fantastic. The pool was great - wish we had more use of it.

Perhaps if we had had to use the lift we may thought it inadequate but you are warned when booking that the hotel might not be suitable for people with walking difficulties etc.

Towards the end of each evening all you could see was happy and contented guests - what more can I say - I don't know where the moaners were. We will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandraandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Sandraandrichard, Many thanks for posting your review and for being so complimentary. We are progressing with improving the disabled access to the hotel, we hope to have final permission to build a ramp from the council soon. I look forward to your next visit. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in this Shearings hotel in mid January. I accept what other reviewers have written, critisising certain aspects of the hotel package - but come on folks - 'You get what you pay for!' These mid-week deals from Shearings are great value for money, you cannot expect a luxury 5* hotel for the money you pay! The rooms are a little 'tired', bathroom was cramped and room needed a 'lick of paint' - but then you make the most of it. Food on the whole was good, admittedly portion sizes are small but then there are many elderly clients who do not eat large portions! Overall I was more than satisfied with what we got for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want a room with sea views and better than average facilities.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Davis R, looks like you enjoyed your stay which is brilliant. Value for money has been a mainstay of the company for many years and despite increasing costs we are still delivering value holidays. In the near future we will be commencing works to improve a number of bedrooms to further enhance your holidays with us. The new room designs are very nice. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed at the marine 25th to 28th january with my daughter 22,and son 13 for her birthday iv never reviewed a holiday before as people usually moan about nothing.i felt i needed to on this occasion..we settled into our rooms,tried the tvs.both the remotes didnt work so asked a blonde lady on reception to replace batteries.she wrote it down but nothing was done.we went straight in pool.lovely.then went for dinner.it was the worst food ive ever had.soup like water,chicken was so dry i couldnt swallow it.breakfast was a childs portion.most of the food was frozen.custard was disgusting.my bed tipped to the left and nearly fell out of bed 3 times.i asked for another room.the blonde receptionist wasnt very happy but gave me a room.it was on the 4th floor.the bed was ok but the room smelled of damp.on closer inspection the room had previously had a leak.the paint was mouldy and flaky and the wallpaper was hanging off.i didnt complain as i was leaving the next morning.surely that room shouldnt have been given to anyone?i have been on a lot of national holidays.this was the worst.the staff were so miserable with the exception of 2 of the waitressess.blonde with glasses and dark with glasses.

Room Tip: you would have to pay for an upgrade.the tvs were useless and rooms very basic.they want you to pay...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hi Sharon K, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to the notes made in our hand over diary, I am aware of the room you were originally allocated and the room you moved too. It is noted that you did not complain about your original room until 1pm on the Sunday and that is when the room move was offered to you. I have checked through the maintenance book and find no record of any issues reported about either room during your stay. I will however investigate further. Regarding the meals we serve, most of it is made from fresh produce and more gravy or sauce is always available. Marcus Williams, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The single lift is sorely inadequate for a hotel of this size, and if you manage to use it, you could still have stairs to go up and down to get to your room, it is so badly laid out. The staff in general are wonderful and obliging especially the receptionists and manager. All food is waiter served, we prefer buffet. Main courses are so very dry - more gravy was supplied if asked, but don't order anything in a sauce. The custard was abysmal, but there was a good selection of cheeses on the cheese board. The rooms are comfortable and if you get an upgraded room, you get a better selection of tv channels. If you get rooms above the entertainment (we were in room 122), take ear plugs. The location is excellent and we loved the resort.

Room Tip: If you are disabled, you need a room near the lift. Let the hotel know it is important.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Hi Sylvia O, Your review reads that you enjoyed your stay, scoring the hotel high for service and cleanliness although I am disappointed that you did not enjoy all of your meals. Just so you know we do have two lifts to service the rooms and it is possible to get a room allocated that is on the level from the lift. I would advise anyone with mobility issues to contact our special help desk during the booking process. Hope to see you again. Marcus Williams, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to the Marine Hotel last week on a Shearings mid week break. Food was excellent, good choice, waitress service, [not the school meal type buffet]. Room was warm, clean and comfortable. Together with free drinks vouchers made the whole package very good value for money.
Will def. do it again!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tom_taxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi tom_taxi, Many thanks for posting your review; it reads excellently. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very pleasant trip on this Shearings holiday. For the price we paid this trip was excellent. The food was very good with a good choice of dishes. Our waiter (Lucas) was friendly, attentitive and very efficient. The bedroom with sea view was clean and the en-suite shower room had recently been refurbished. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The swimming pool was a bonus if a little dated but it must be one of the warmest hotel pools we have ever had. With low temperatures outside a nice way to spend an hour before dinner. We had one gripe with the hotel and it was that the entertainment hall was cold when the evening entertainment started. A few portable heaters were dotted around but the main heating was not on. Overall this holiday was fantastic value for money and we recommend you give it a try in this wonderful part of the country.

Room Tip: Request a sea view. The hotel is in the middle of the sea front and the views to the left and right...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Paul R, Glad you enjoyed your stay and found it such good value. The main heating does not heat the ballroom so we have wall heaters in this area. Thanks for your post and I hope you are looking forward to returning. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#38 of 60 in Llandudno
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: $109 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing