We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“baymarine”
Review of Bay Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Marine Hotel
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Reviewed December 29, 2012

we have just returned from 4 day stay in the bay marine the hotel it was dissgusting and verry tired the rest of the down stairs rooms are in the same condition the ceiling in one room had water penitration the staff tried the best they could but under staffing was a real probblem
the christmas dinner was not a lot better, the bed in room 301 single, was like sleeping on a bed of bricks move and one spring moves sticks in your back move the other way same result. The shower tray in the bathroom you had to turn the taps off or water flooded the bed room would not recomend this hotel unless your standeds are very low

Room Tip: did not see any more rooms.But wer told if we wanted an upgrade it was 35£ per person per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ROY675678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Hello ROY675678, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you considered the hotel to be of a very low standard; not a view held by many who visit us and enjoy their stay. Having checked I can see that you reported the shower and that it was dealt with. I can find no complaint about your bed but this would have been changed had you reported it. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 820 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

very clean,good food,indoor pool red hot,staff and management very polite and friendly nothing to much trouble,very good value for money,we stayed there last week friday till monday ,december 14 to 17th,fully recomended.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 306,lift next to reception up to third floor turn left your there,2 minutes,lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hi pollyanarose, great to read you enjoyed your stay, no doubt we'll see you again; if not at this hotel maybe one of the others in the group. Many thanks for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is not the first time I have felt the need to give the Marine a good review.

My Wife and I just love visiting Llandudno, and even though we live in Wales (Machynlleth) the lovely seaside town is just too far to travel for a day trip. So we always stay at either the Marine or its Shearings sister Hotel, the County.

This time we stayed at the Marine for a weekend in November 2012

As usual we telephoned in to request a particular restaurant table and the room we always stay in, and these were waiting for us on arrival.

The food was as usual very good. My Wife has Coeliac disease which means all her food must be Gluten free. We request this on the booking form and so she was well catered for, no problem.

The Staff Team as usual were efficient, friendly and helpful. I must give a special mention to reception lady Delia who looked after us particularly well.

The Marine is superbly situated right on the promenade, and very near to the excellent shopping facilities there are in Llandudno.

My honest opinion is that for what one pays for a weekend or whatever, there is no better value than the Marine for staying in Llandudno, as our experience has shown my Wife and I over many years.

We just keep going back to stay at the Marine, which should speak for itself really.

Room Tip: Request a room in the side street which is just off the promenade. Failing that pay extra for a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Booze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hi boozercruiser, Not the first time I have replied to a good review from you. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments again. It is good to see regular guests return and continue to enjoy what we offer. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just been staying at the Marine Hotel for a turkey & tinsel weekend. Food and service excellent. The lift was out of order all the time we were there. It was not a problem for us but some elderly people were having to carry their luggage themselves up a few flights of stairs. The hotel was in dire need of an update. Scuffed doors a d peeling wallpaper. The bedrooms were rather gloomy. The evening entertainment was very good. Good value for money in spite of adverse comments.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hi ann m, looks like you enjoyed your stay which is great. The lift has been fixed and porterage is always available to any guest who needs a hand. Thank you for your comments. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel was very good value for the money we paid. Although there were four coach loads in the meal times went like clockwork, with excellent waiter service. The food was of a good standard, there was plenty of choice with starter, main and dessert. Coffee was served in the lounge. The drinks were a bit pricy The hotel was decorated for Christmas but apart from christmas napkins and crackers there was not much else to do with Christmas but then that suited us. The public bar areas were adequate but the entertainment room was drab and dark and long by narrow. Nice to have the bonus of the pool too. The outside facility for disabled was not working and others said it had been like that last year. All in all good value for the price.

Room Tip: The side rooms have a sea view as well as the front ones. We were on the third floor and our room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcia_kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi marcis_kemp, I am really glad you enjoyed your holiday, the meals and the service provided. The local council are finally progressing our planning application for a ramp, so hopefully not too long now. Thank you for your post. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were not advised the lifts were out of order. The coach party were all elderly and were attracted by the ease of access. We heatd fom other guests the lifts problem has been ongoing for some time and had not been addressed by the time we left. Many of the facilities were out of order or of poor quality eg. Radiators not working, one tv channel, no drawer handle, etc
They were very short staffed but the staff who were there did a good job

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hello ronshe, Thank you for your post and for scoring us so highly on cleanliness and service. Yes the lift was out of order and it took longer to fix than expected but we do try to get things up and running as quickly as possible when breakdowns occur. If the TV in your room needs retuning, let us know at reception and we will sort it out for you. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a shearings coach holiday of four nights (five days). The hotel is mostly in good decorative order and our room was spacious and comfortable. I found it rather dark for reading but within half an hour of my commenting to the reception desk, I had a maintenance man at the room door with a stronger light bulb - which did the trick. All the hotel staff were great from the young men who transferred our cases to the entertainment staff. The food was plentiful and well cooked and service good except for the first evening and morning when there did not seem to be enough staff to cope with the numbers in the restaurant. The hotel is on the sea front yet also very close to the shopping centre, theatre etc so perfect for those who are not able to walk long distances. I must mention Brian our coach driver who was wonderful and managed to keep his sense of humour amidst the floods! Overall this was a good value for money holiday.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a sea view room, but in November it was often dark by the time we returne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWilliams59, General Manager at Bay Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hi Carol E, Many thanks for your review, we clearly ticked all your boxes. It is good to read how much you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Marcus Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.3 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Llandudno
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#20 of 60 in Llandudno
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.3 mi away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Marine Hotel

Address: Vaughan Street | The Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Price Range: $88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the imposing Victorian style of the resort’s seafront, this handsome hotel boasts stunning views over the Irish Sea. Not only does it offer comfortable furnishings, friendly service and a swimming pool perfect for active moments, but also an ideal setting in the centre of the promenade, within easy walking distance of the town’s plentiful tourist attractions. Lazy days can be spent on the beach or pier, shopping for souvenirs, visiting the Alice in Wonderland Centre or taking a tram ride up The Great Orme, whilst numerous sporting pursuits are on offer locally. There is limited parking in the guest car park located behind the building but street parking is usually available nearby. For a break away discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you could not be better placed than in Llandudno, at the Marine Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Llandudno
Bay Marine Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing